When you have a license suspension after a DUI conviction, and you don’t own a vehicle, you’ll buy FR44 non owner insurance Florida for reinstatement. When you’re eligible for license reinstatement, you’ll need to choose an FR44 insurance provider to issue and file your certificate with the state.
Can I get liability Florida FR44 insurance without a car?
Yes, liability Florida FR44 insurance is the same thing as FR44 non owner insurance Florida.
Does non owner FR44 insurance have restrictions?
Non owner insurance coverage has several limitations. Non owner insurance insures you, not a vehicle. It does not cover you when driving a vehicle owned by someone in your household or any vehicle to which you have regular access.
How much does FR44 non owner insurance Florida cost?
Costs of DUI insurance Florida can vary depending on your age, area (zip code), and the number of violations you have. Rates may also vary between insurance providers.
Why is the cost of Florida DUI insurance so high?
Several factors contribute to the high cost of Florida DUI insurance policies. Florida’s no-fault law requires higher liability coverage of 100/300/50. Fraudulent claims arise from the no-fault law, which increases insurance rates overall in the state. The high number of claims after hurricanes and other weather events also contributes to the high cost of Florida FR44 insurance.
Can I pay monthly for my insurance policy?
No. You must pay Florida FR44 insurance policies in full for at least six months. You can also purchase a 12-month policy.
Can I cancel FR44 non owner insurance after it’s issued?
No. Florida Statute 627.7275 requires the policy to be issued and maintained at least 6 months. During the first 60 days, only the underwriter may cancel the policy for specific underwriting reasons. After 60 days, you cannot cancel the policy for any reason during the remainder of the policy period.
If I own a vehicle, can I file a non-owner FR44 certificate and get separate insurance on my car to save money?
No. In Florida, you can’t purchase a non-owner insurance certificate if you have a vehicle registered in your name. If you own a car, truck, or motorcycle, you need to file an owner-operator Florida FR44 certificate. Rates for an FR44 policy with a car can be 2-5 times higher than for a non-owner FR44 policy.
Talk with a licensed UltraCar Insurance agent for a free, no-obligation consultation about FR44 non owner insurance Florida.
This article was last updated on February 25th, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance