×
Rhode Island SR22 Insurance

Rhode Island SR22 Insurance

Need help filing your Rhode Island SR22 insurance certificate? That's our specialty. Get a quote now or call us today.

Rhode Island SR22 Insurance

Last updated on June 20th, 2018 by

If your license is suspended after one or more traffic violations, or if a legal judgment requires it, you will be required to purchase Rhode Island SR22 insurance for a period of time. An SR22 certificate is attached as a rider to your auto insurance policy and filed with the state DMV. This serves as a guarantee to the state that you will keep your Rhode Island SR22 insurance policy up to date for the period of time required, so it is monitored closely. If it lapses even once your license will be suspended again.

Affordable SR22 insurance is not always easy to find, so it’s a relief to have an insurance company on your side to find the best Rhode Island SR22 insurance for your needs. UltraCar Insurance works on your behalf to gather competitive insurance quotes directly from top rated insurance providers. In as little as 20 minutes we can obtain and file your SR22 insurance certificate with the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles. With UltraCar Insurance, you’ll get the results you need in a timely manner.

What is Rhode Island SR22 Insurance?

Rhode Island drivers who have lost their driving privileges are required to purchase Rhode Island SR22 insurance to have their driver’s license reinstated. SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility purchased through an insurance provider that is attached to a driver’s auto insurance policy and filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles. The SR22 certificate is proof from the insurance provider that the driver is keeping in effect the proper amount of liability insurance required by the state.

Minimum Auto Liability Insurance Requirements in Rhode Island:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability for all injuries in an accident
  • $25,000 in property damage per accident

Rhode Island SR22 insurance typically needs to be carried for one to three years. During this time the insurance provider is required to contact the DMV if the insured’s policy lapses, expires or is canceled. An SR26 form is filed, alerting the DMV that the driver is no longer properly insured with the required liability coverage, and the DMV will cancel their driving privileges once again. This is a costly mistake for drivers and one that should be avoided.

The state of offers two types of Rhode Island SR22 insurance: SR22 owner insurance is for individuals who own a vehicle, and SR22 non owner insurance is for people who do not own a vehicle. For more detailed information on non owner insurance in Rhode Island, see our page titled Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island. NOTE: Effective February 2018, UltraCar Insurance does not offer non owner SR22 insurance in Rhode Island.

Rhode Island DMV

More Information can be found at the Rhode Island DMV Website.

More information related to Rhode Island SR22 insurance can be found on these pages:

UltraCar Insurance in Rhode Island

UltraCar Insurance values your business. Our agents will answer your questions and obtain the best Rhode Island SR22 insurance rate for your needs. Submit your inquiry using our secure online form, or give us a call today!

Circle
 

Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!


 
* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.
SR22, FR44 and Business Insurance News Latest Updates.
Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island

Non Owner SR22 Insurance Rhode Island

| UltraCar Insurance

NOTE: EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 2018, ULTRACAR INSURANCE DOES NOT OFFER NON OWNER SR22 INSURANCE IN RHODE ISLAND. Rhode Island drivers who do not own a vehicle and need to reinstate their license must purchase non owner SR22 insurance Rhode Island. When a non owner SR22 policy is purchased, the driver’s insurance provider submits an SR22 filing with Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicles, which allows for license reinstatement after any assigned fees and penalties have been paid. The insurance provider then monitors the policy during a probationary period set by the Rhode DMV. This probationary period is usually 1-3 years, depending on the circumstances.

SR22 Insurance Rhode Island SR22 Insurance Rhode Island | UltraCar Insurance