Georgia SR22A insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility you’ll be required to file with the Georgia DMV for license reinstatement. Unlike SR22 programs in other states, SR22A premiums are paid in full for a six month term; there is no monthly premium payment option. Whether you need to file an owner or non owner Georgia SR22A insurance certificate, you can count on UltraCar Insurance to find the best rate possible.
What is Georgia SR22A Insurance?
SR22A in Georgia is a certificate that’s attached to your primary auto insurance policy (owner’s insurance), or filed alone (non owners insurance) with the state department of driver services. When you purchase SR22A insurance, the certificate is filed by your insurance provider as a prerequisite for license reinstatement. After reinstatement, the SR22A certificate confirms that you have and will maintain the required amount of liability insurance. The certificate is monitored closely by the insurance provider for the time period required by the state of Georgia. If the policy is allowed to lapse, expire or cancel. the insurance company files an SR26 form with the Georgia DDS, and your driver’s license is once again suspended. Most drivers who are required to carry SR22A insurance will need to do so for three years, depending on the circumstances.
Why do I need Georgia SR22A insurance?
Certain motor vehicle violations or legal judgments on your record can result in being designated a high risk driver. Examples of reasons for a Georgia SR22A insurance requirement include:
- Child support or neglect cases
- Legal judgments
- Uninsured vehicle accidents
- Refusal to take a breath or blood alcohol test
- DUI or DWI offenses
- Excessive points against a DMV record
There are two types of Georgia SR22A insurance: owner and non owner insurance. Owner SR22A insurance is for drivers who own a vehicle. Non owner SR22A insurance is for drivers who do not own a vehicle. See our Georgia Non Owner SR22A page for more information on this option. Non Owner SR22 vs SR22 Insurance describes the differences between owner and non owner SR22A insurance.
Georgia requires drivers who own a vehicle to carry a minimum amount of auto liability insurance. Below are the legal minimum requirements, but higher amounts can be purchased.
- $25,000 property damage incurred in one accident
- $50,000 for two or more persons in one accident
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person in one accident
More information about licensing, motor vehicle laws and penalties for moving violations can be found on the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) website.
UltraCar Insurance in Georgia
You can obtain free multiple quotes for Georgia SR22A insurance from UltraCar Insurance – a leading company for all SR22A needs, whether you own a vehicle or not. We do the shopping for you, so you don’t have to. Start a quote now using our secure online form, or give us a call today!
This article was last updated on March 7th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance