Even if you don’t own a vehicle, you likely have a driver’s license. Most people do, for the purpose of identification, voting, airline travel, and to drive a borrowed vehicle. Suppose while driving a friend’s car you get a DUI or DWI charge and license suspension. If you don’t own a car, you’ll need to file a non owner FR44 Virginia certificate for license reinstatement.
Why do people need non owner FR44 insurance?
The state of Virginia was the first state to adopt the FR44 law in January 2008 specifically for DUI/DWI violations. It is separate from SR22 insurance, which is for non-alcohol or drug related offenses. FR44 is a financial responsibility form attached to a non-owner insurance policy. When filed with the DMV, it allows you to reinstate your driving privileges. Non owner FR44 Virginia is high risk insurance specifically for DUI or DWI offenses. The certificate filing is a guarantee of insurance. So the insurance company monitors the policy attached to your certificate to ensure that the coverage is current. Drivers must usually carry FR44 insurance for 1-3 years.
What happens if I miss an FR44 insurance payment?
If your insurance policy lapses for any reason during that time, your insurance provider submits an FR46 form to the Virginia DMV. That filing results in another suspension of your license. To reinstate it again, you’ll pay a reinstatement fee and obtain a new non owner FR44 Virginia policy. In addition, letting your high-risk liability coverage lapse may add time to your FR44 requirement. Therefore, it is best to complete the FR44 requirement without an interruption of coverage.
Liability insurance coverage requirements
The coverage requirements for non owner FR44 insurance is double that of non owner SR22 insurance. (Non owner SR22 is for non-alcohol or drug-related violations). FR44 coverage requirements are $50,000 bodily injury per person, $100,000 bodily injury per accident, and $40,000 property damage.
There are coverage limitations with non owner FR44 policies. The Virginia DMV website has more information about obtaining restricted driving privileges after a DUI conviction.
UltraCar Insurance files your non owner FR44 Virginia certificate electronically with the Virginia DMV, and provides you a copy of your certificate within 20 minutes. Do you have questions? We provide no-obligation consultations during business hours. Call us for affordable quotes, or click the button for an online quote today!
This article was last updated on May 29th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance