×
For Virginia license reinstatement after a DUI, you'll need FR44 insurance.

What is FR44 Virginia?

To reinstate your license after a DUI, you need FR44 Virginia insurance. We make your filing easy! Start a quote or call today.

What is FR44 Virginia?

Last updated on February 15th, 2020 by

FR44 Virginia is a certificate of financial responsibility. After a DUI or DWI conviction, you can reinstate your license when you file this document with the DMV. The FR44 certificate is attached to an auto insurance policy if you own a vehicle, or to a non-owner insurance policy if you don’t. You must always stay current with your FR44 insurance payments to avoid another license suspension.

Drivers who commit an alcohol-related motor vehicle offense will have to buy FR44 Virginia insurance to reinstate their license.

Who needs FR44 Virginia?

People with DUI/DWI license suspensions need to carry FR44 insurance for a certain time. Your license can be suspended for violations such as:

  • Repeated DWI offenses
  • Refusal to submit a breath or chemical test
  • DUI accidents that cause bodily injury to another person

Virginia is one of two states (the other state being Florida) that have two types of high-risk insurance certificates:

Consequences of Virginia DUI/DWI

After a Virginia DUI or DWI violation, the state will suspend your license. You’ll have to buy FR44 Virginia insurance to regain your driving privileges. The state of Virginia imposes more severe penalties for DUI violations than for non-alcohol or drug-related violations. Adult drivers who test at .08 or higher BAC (blood alcohol content) are charged with DWI (driving while impaired). People under 21 years who test at .02% – .08% BAC will have their license suspended for six months.

Penalties for a Virginia DWI conviction include:

  • Fines
  • Alcohol education classes
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Jail time

How much does FR44 Virginia cost?

Virginia FR44 insurance has higher premiums and higher coverage requirements than Virginia SR22 insurance. The liability insurance requirements for FR44 coverage are 50/100/40:

  • $50,000 bodily injury per person
  • $100,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $40,000 property damage

FR44 insurance must be kept current without lapse, in most cases, for three years. Your insurance rate after a DUI conviction can be 2-3 times more than before a DUI conviction. Because FR44 Virginia insurance premiums are high, you’ll want to get the cheapest rate possible.

Information related to FR44 insurance is available on the Virginia DMV website under “Driver’s License Reinstatement”.

See these articles on our website for more about Virginia FR44 insurance:

UltraCar Insurance is a licensed Virginia insurance provider. We offer low rates from top companies in the industry. Our friendly agents will answer your questions, present a competitive Virginia FR44 insurance quote, and quickly file your certificate. Experienced agents are standing by to help. Click the quote button or call us today!

Circle
 

Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!


 
* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.