Driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs is against the law in all 50 states. DUI in Virginia penalties occur if you’re 21 years or older with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. The blood alcohol limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02%.
Virginia has tough DUI laws. A conviction for DUI in Virginia is a serious matter that becomes even more problematic if you cause an accident while intoxicated. Many accidents, injuries and deaths occur each year when drunk drivers get behind the wheel. And statistics show that injuries and deaths caused by DUI and DWI accidents increase during holiday seasons.
Penalties for DUI in Virginia
DUI penalties for drivers under age 21 vs drivers over 21 vary substantially. Penalties for Virginia DUI can also vary among drivers over 21. Penalties depend on the severity of the offense, previous DUI convictions, and blood alcohol content.
For people over age 21, a first DUI offense results in a 7-day administrative license suspension and a 1-year license revocation, among other penalties. The court will impose the final ruling, with the outcome depending on the driver’s history. Depending on the court’s decision, a driver may be eligible for a restricted license after the administrative 7-day license suspension.
License reinstatement after a DUI conviction
You can obtain Virginia license reinstatement after a DUI in Virginia by paying assigned fines, completing an alcohol safety action program (ASAP), and satisfying all court requirements. You’ll also need to obtain DUI insurance and file a Virginia FR44 insurance certificate with the Virginia DMV.
If you own a vehicle, your agent will attach the FR44 form to your auto insurance policy. If you don’t own a car, you’ll buy non owner FR44 Virginia insurance.
In many cases the state will require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle before reinstating your license. Through our partnership with Intoxalock®, we can help you with that!
More about Virginia license reinstatement
See the Virginia DMV website for more information about drinking and driving in Virginia and obtaining restricted driving privileges after a DUI conviction.
If you have a DUI in Virginia, count on UltraCar Insurance to help you reinstate your driving privileges. Our licensed agents provide accurate information, low rates, and quick Virginia FR44 insurance quotes. We also offer FR44 motorcycle insurance quotes! Call today for a no-obligation consultation, or start an online quote now.
This article was last updated on January 12th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance