Any person with a DUI conviction in Virginia must carry Virginia FR44 insurance to reinstate their license. Two states currently use an FR44 filing system specifically for alcohol-related offenses: Florida and Virginia. Virginia was the first state to adopt this separate filing system in 2008. Electronic filing is the usual method of submitting the certificate to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This allows for faster processing and better efficiency. If you’re already working with someone at the DMV who requires you to file manually, UltraCar Insurance can file manually at your request.
How does Virginia FR44 insurance work?
FR44 insurance is a guarantee of future insurance coverage and proof of financial responsibility. An insurance provider endorses the FR44 certificate to an insurance policy, which is filed with the Virginia DMV by an insurance provider. Your policy has to stay current during a specific time (in most cases three years). The insurance company monitors Virginia FR44 insurance your insurance policy to make certain it doesn’t lapse. If it does, your insurance provider submits an FR46 form to the state. This results in another license suspension, which requires you to repeat the reinstatement process again.
Your insurance agent writes a Virginia FR44 insurance owner policy when you own a car, truck or motorcycle. (If you own a motorcycle, see Virginia FR44 Motorcycle Insurance). Then they endorse the certificate to your vehicle insurance policy. If you don’t own a car, you’ll purchase a Non Owner FR44 Virginia policy, and your agent endorses the certificate to a non-owner insurance policy.
Minimum coverage requirements for DUI insurance:
The state considers alcohol and drug-related motor vehicle offenses to be the most serious. Therefore, minimum liability coverage for FR44 insurance is two times higher than for SR22 insurance. (SR22 is for for violations not related to alcohol or drugs).
- $60,000 bodily injury per accident
- $120,000 bodily injury liability for all injuries in an accident
- $40,000 in property damage per accident
The following violations require a Virginia FR44 insurance filing:
- Driving while intoxicated
- Causing injury to others or to a property while under the influence
- Violating the provisions of federal law.
- Driving without a license due to forfeit for a conviction
- Driving without a license (juvenile)
Details about obtaining restricted driving privileges after a DUI conviction are available on the Virginia DMV website.
You can save time and money by selecting the right insurance provider. UltraCar Insurance specializes in Virginia FR44 insurance. We’ll write an insurance policy at the lowest possible rate for your needs. Call us or start a quick online quote today!
NOTE: If your license suspension is not related to DUI/DWI, see Virginia SR22 Insurance.
This article was last updated on January 12th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance