When you need Michigan SR22 insurance, UltraCar Insurance can help. In as little as 20 minutes we will find competitive rates for your situation, issue your SR22 certificate and file it with the state of Michigan DMV to reinstate your license and get you back on the road. UltraCar Insurance is affiliated with top-rated insurance companies, and can offer quality Michigan SR22 insurance policies at affordable prices.
There are two types of SR22 insurance: owner and non owner. SR22 owner insurance is for drivers who own a vehicle registered in their name. SR22 non owner insurance is for drivers who do not own a vehicle.
What is Michigan SR22 insurance?
Michigan SR22 insurance is necessary for a driver to reinstate their license, and must be kept in force for one to three years. The SR22 certificate is attached as a rider or endorsement to a standard insurance policy, and serves as a link between the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles and the driver’s insurance provider. When a driver purchases Michigan SR22 insurance, their insurance provider files the SR22 certificate with the state DMV. The certificate is a guarantee by the insurance provider to the state that the driver is covered by liability insurance required by the state of Michigan throughout the probationary period. The insurance provider must immediately report a lapse, expiration or cancellation of an SR22 policy to the Michigan DMV by filing an SR26 form, which will result in license suspension.
What is Non Owner Michigan SR22 Insurance?
NOTE: EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 2018 UltraCar Insurance does not offer non owner SR22 in Michigan. Non owner Michigan SR22 insurance is written for individuals who do not have a vehicle registered in their name. It is secondary insurance that covers only vehicles that the policy holder drives on occasion. It does not cover household vehicles, vehicles that are frequently driven, or rental or commercial vehicles. if a driver is involved in an accident as a result of their driving error, Michigan non owner SR22 insurance takes effect after the vehicle owner’s insurance coverage limits have been reached.
Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage Requirements Michigan:
(This is the minimum liability insurance required, but additional insurance coverage can be purchased.)
- $20,000 bodily injury per accident
- $40,000 bodily injury liability for all injuries in an accident
- $10,000 in property damage in one accident
Detailed information can be found at the Michigan DMV Website.
More information related to Michigan SR22 insurance can be found on these pages:
UltraCar Insurance in Michigan
As soon as your online or phone request is received, UltraCar Insurance begins surveying insurance companies to find the best rate for you. For fast Michigan SR22 insurance filing, use our secure online form, or give us a call today!
This article was last updated on December 14th, 2021 by UltraCar Insurance