Kansas drivers with a suspended license need Kansas SR22 insurance to quickly and cost-efficiently get back on the road. UltraCar Insurance provides low SR22 insurance rates from top companies in the industry. We’ll file your certificate with the state in as little as 20 minutes.
What is Kansas SR22 Insurance?
When you have a suspended or revoked license, you can reinstate your driving privileges by purchasing Kansas SR22 insurance. SR22 insurance is high-risk insurance. Policies are available for vehicle owners or non-vehicle owners. SR22 is a certificate of financial responsibility that’s an endorsement to an auto insurance policy. Your insurance provider files it with the Kansas Department of Motor Vehicles. The state assigns a time during which you must carry this insurance to drive legally. During that time, the filing serves as a guarantee that you’ll maintain the required insurance coverage. SR22 insurance is usually liability-only insurance, but you can add comprehensive and collision coverage.
What is the SR22 process?
When you buy Kansas SR22 insurance, your insurance provider will complete the SR22 filing the Kansas State DMV requires to reinstate your license. For the time the state requires (usually three years), the insurance company monitors your policy to ensure that it remains active. If you allow the policy to lapse or cancel it during that time, the insurance company submits an SR26 form to Kansas DMV. The SR26 notifies the DMV that you no longer carry the required insurance coverage. The DMV will then suspend or revoke your license again.
Non Owner Kansas SR22 Insurance
Suppose you have a suspended or revoked driver’s license, but you don’t own a vehicle. In that case, you’ll buy a non-owner insurance policy. This type of policy covers you when you drive a borrowed car. Non-owner SR22 insurance is secondary liability insurance. It pays claims after a vehicle owner’s insurance has paid its maximum coverage limits. Please scroll down to see our article about Non Owner SR22 Insurance Kansas. The state also requires you to maintain a non-owner SR22 insurance policy for an assigned time, without lapse. If you later buy a vehicle, you’ll need to purchase an owner or owner-operator SR22 policy.
Minimum liability insurance coverage requirements in Kansas
All Kansas liability insurance policies, including Kansas SR22 insurance, must meet the following minimum coverage requirements:
- $25,000 bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury liability for all injuries in an accident
- $25,000 in property damage in one accident
You’ll find more information about Kansas licensing and motor vehicle laws and penalties on the state DMV website.
UltraCar Insurance in Kansas
Start a Kansas SR22 insurance quote online now, or give us a call today! We’ll be glad to answer your questions and will make the filing process quick and easy.
This article was last updated on March 7th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance