People with a DUI conviction who don’t own a vehicle and want to reinstate their license will need to obtain Florida non owner FR44 insurance. UltraCar Insurance specializes in helping people with a DUI record obtain license reinstatement by filing an FR44 certificate with the Florida DMV. The DMV assigns a case number to each person with an alcohol related motor vehicle offense, which is printed on the certificate. The case number contains 9 digits, starting with a 4, which indicates you are required to file an FR44. During the suspension period, you can apply for a hardship license after you go through an administrative hearing, allowing you to drive from home to work and back.
If you consume alcohol or take a prescription or illegal drug and decide to drive, you have a greater chance of getting into an accident – not only putting yourself in danger, but putting others at risk of harm or even death. For that reason, Florida has some of the toughest penalties for DWI offenses.
What are the Costs of Florida Non Owner FR44 Insurance?
Driving under the influence is not only dangerous, but is personally and financially costly – even if you don’t own a car, truck or motorcycle. With a first drunk driving offense, you will automatically go through a revocation period of 180 days to a year. If someone is hurt in the incident, the revocation period will be closer to one year.
In addition to having to purchase and pay for Florida DUI insurance for a minimum of 3 years, there are other monetary penalties in the form of fines and fees. Because of the seriousness of drunk driving or drug related motor vehicle offenses, the coverage minimums and premiums are much higher than for non-alcohol related violations that require an SR22 certificate. Beginning October 1, 2017 the minimum liability requirements for Florida non owner FR44 policies increased from 10/20/10 to 100/300/50. This means that you must have $100,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $300,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $50,000 property damage coverage.
Florida DUI penalties and fines can vary, depending on the person’s blood alcohol content (BAC) at the time of the incident. The higher the BAC level, the higher the fines and penalties that will be assigned. The reinstatement fee is usually between $150 to $500, followed by increased premiums for FR44 insurance that must be paid without lapse for 3 years after the driver’s license has been reinstated. Florida non owner FR44 policies are often issued in six-month increments. The first 6-month premium must be paid in full up front. Some insurance companies allow you to pay premiums on a monthly basis after the first six months, or at renewal. You would still have the option to pay in full if you wish, but since high risk insurance premiums can be costly, monthly premiums may be easier on your budget. Other detailed information about Florida DUI fines, penalties and procedures can be found on the Florida DMV website.
What if I start with a Florida non owner FR44 and buy a car later?
If you originally purchased non owner FR44 insurance and later purchase a vehicle, you will not be able to purchase a regular insurance policy for the car you bought, and maintain the non owner FR44 insurance policy. The car insurance and the FR44 certificate must be combined together. The difference between your non owner FR44 premium and the new Florida FR44 insurance certificate will have to be paid in full, and your insurance rate will be significantly increased. For this reason you must plan ahead before purchasing a vehicle.
UltraCar Insurance will find you the best possible rate from leading insurance companies and file your FR44 certificate electronically with the DMV. We present your policy to you within 20 minutes after it is issued. Talk to one of our licensed agents today for your no obligation Florida non owner FR44 insurance quote.
Do you need Florida non-owner SR22 insurance instead? Visit our Florida Non Owner SR22 Insurance page to learn more.