One reason Florida DUI penalties are harsh is to discourage dangerous driving behavior. Drunk and impaired driving not only endangers the driver, but has great potential to harm other innocent people.
Florida DUI penalties
Depending on the circumstances of the offense, penalties include:
- Automatic 6-month driver’s license suspension
- Fines ranging between $250-$500 or higher
- Florida DUI driver improvement courses
- Assignment to community service
- Imprisonment up to 6 months (or up to 9 months if there was a minor in the vehicle)
- License revocation
- Florida Zero Tolerance Law
- Florida Ignition Interlock
Repeat DUI convictions
Alcohol and drugs negatively affect perception and coordination. Driving under the influence of these substances creates a dangerous situation for others sharing the road. Unfortunately, some drivers tend to repeat the offense. For that reason, Florida DUI penalties for subsequent convictions are increasingly severe. The severity of penalties for repeat violations depends on the circumstances, and if there were injuries, deaths, or property damage. The state can impose both administrative (financial), and criminal penalties for repeat DUI/DWI offenses.
License reinstatement after a DUI conviction
You’ll have to file a Florida FR44 insurance certificate with Florida HSMV when you’re eligible for license reinstatement. If you don’t own a vehicle, UltraCar Insurance will file a Florida non-owner FR44 certificate for you. If you own a car, you’ll buy a Florida FR44 owner-operator policy, which carries a significantly higher premium. A word of caution if you own a vehicle. Beware of insurance providers that try to sell you a non-owner FR44 policy, knowing that you own a vehicle. If you run into that situation, we suggest you investigate other options.
More about Florida DUI penalties
On the Florida HSMV website:
- Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws
- DUI Program Service Fees
- DUI and IID (Ignition Interlock Device)
UltraCar Insurance specializes in license reinstatement resulting from Florida DUI penalties. We’ll help make the process as easy as possible for you. Did you know that you can get FR44 insurance on your motorcycle? Call for a no-obligation consultation with a licensed agent, or click the button to start a Florida FR44 insurance quote!
This article was last updated on August 17th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance