Every driver in the state of Arkansas is required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance, but if you have certain offenses against your driving record that have resulted in suspension or revocation of your license, you will be required to obtain additional SR22 insurance. Arkansas SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility the state requires in order to reinstate a suspended license. Let UltraCar Insurance help find the right Arkansas SR22 insurance solution for you in as little as 20 minutes.
Arkansas SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility that is filed with the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles that allows an individual to reinstate their suspended or revoked license. Arkansas drivers who have had their license suspended or revoked due to certain driving offenses are required to carry Arkansas SR22 insurance. An SR22 certificate is a rider or endorsement to a policy holder’s primary insurance. The certificate allows the driver’s insurance company to monitor the SR22 policy to assure the Arkansas DMV that the driver carries the proper amount of liability insurance without interruption during a mandated time period.
Arkansas SR22 insurance must be carried without interruption for two to five years. During this time, it is extremely important for the policyholder not to allow their insurance to lapse or expire. If it does, their insurance company is required to notify the Arkansas DMV through an SR26 filing, resulting in the driver’s license being suspended or revoked.
Arkansas SR22 Insurance and Non Owner Insurance
There are two types of Arkansas SR22 insurance. Drivers who own a vehicle and need to have their license reinstated will purchase owner SR22 insurance. Drivers who do not own a vehicle and need to have their license reinstated will purchase non owner SR22 insurance so they will be properly insured if they drive a vehicle owned by another person.
The state of Arkansas requires licensed drivers to carry minimum liability insurance coverage. Listed below are the minimum coverage requirements, but drivers can purchase higher amounts if they wish.
- $25,000 property damage incurred in one accident
- $50,000 for two or more individuals in one accident
- $25,000 bodily injury for one individual in one accident
More information about licensing, motor vehicle laws and penalties for moving violations can be found on the Arkansas DFA Website.
UltraCar Insurance in Arkansas
UltraCar Insurance will find the best Arkansas SR22 insurance rate for you. Feel free to call with any questions or concerns, or submit an inquiry using our secure online form today!
This article was last updated on November 29th, 2021 by UltraCar Insurance