California SR22 insurance is liability-only insurance the state requires you carry as a condition for license reinstatement after a suspension. When you need SR22 insurance, select a company that will work quickly for you on your behalf. UltraCar Insurance offers friendly service and competitive, low rates for California SR22 insurance, and we file your certificate electronically with the California State Department of Motor Vehicles. We can meet your requirements in as little as 20 minutes start to finish. After your insurance provider submits the SR22 filing to the DMV, processing is usually complete within 24-36 hours.
What is California SR22 Insurance?
SR22 insurance California is a financial responsibility certificate that’s attached to a vehicle owner’s primary insurance policy and filed with California State DMV. It is high risk liability insurance the state requires you to have in order to reinstate your driver’s license. The state will determine how long an individual must carry California SR22 insurance insurance, but typically it is for a period of one to three years. During this time, your insurance provider monitors the policy. If you miss a payment or stop paying your premiums, your insurance provider will alert the DMV by filing an SR26 form. The DMV will immediately suspend your license upon the SR26 notification.
Another type of California SR22 insurance is available for non-vehicle owners. California non owner SR22 insurance is a policy that is written on a driver, and not a vehicle. It is for people who do not own a vehicle, but have a driver’s license that they want to have reinstated. California non owner SR22 insurance also covers the policyholder if they drive another person’s vehicle on an occasional basis. The SR22 non owner certificate is liability insurance that is secondary to a vehicle owner’s primary insurance coverage. It becomes effective in the event of an at-fault accident on the part of the policyholder after the vehicle owner’s primary insurance reaches is coverage limit. California SR22 non owner insurance is not valid for rented or commercial vehicles, or for household vehicles.
Minimum Mandatory Insurance Requirements for California:
All registered vehicles driven in the State of California must have the following minimum insurance coverage:
- $15,000 bodily injury per accident
- $30,000 bodily injury liability for all injuries in an accident
- $5,000 in property damage in one accident
More information about licensing, motor vehicle laws and penalties for moving violations can be found on the California DMV Website.
UltraCar Insurance in California
UltraCar Insurance makes total customer satisfaction our priority. Let us address your concerns and answer your questions about California SR22 insurance. Give us a call or click above to start your online quote today!
This article was last updated on December 2nd, 2021 by UltraCar Insurance