Florida drivers convicted of an alcohol related offense that results in license suspension must purchase Florida DUI insurance to reinstate their license. Also known as Florida FR44 insurance, DUI insurance is a type high risk insurance.
When an individual is convicted of a DUI offense, their driver’s license is automatically suspended. After a probationary period is completed and all requirements are met, their driver’s license can be reinstated provided they purchase Florida DUI insurance. Florida FR44 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility attached as a rider to the driver’s primary insurance policy. After FR44 insurance is purchased, the insurance provider will submit the FR44 filing with Florida State DMV. The FR44 policy is then constantly monitored by the insurance provider to verify that the required insurance coverage is kept in force at all times. UltraCar Insurance provides Florida DUI insurance for license reinstatement, including owner and non owner policies.
If you do not own a vehicle and have lost driving privileges due to a DUI offense, you can reinstate your license by purchasing non owner Florida DUI insurance. If you are involved in an at fault accident while driving a non owned vehicle, your Florida non owners FR44 insurance goes into effect after the vehicle owner’s primary insurance coverage limits have been reached. Any additional bodily injury or property damage claims not paid by the vehicle owner’s insurance will be paid by your Florida DUI insurance policy. See our pages titled Non Owner FR44 Florida and Florida Non Owner FR44 for more information about non owner DUI insurance.
If you are required to carry FR44 insurance it is important that you do not let the policy lapse, expire or be canceled. If this happens, your insurance provider will immediately submit an FR46 form to Florida DMV, resulting in suspension of your driver’s license. This means you will once again have to obtain DUI insurance coverage and pay a reinstatement fee and/or fines to have your license reinstated. Because this is costly, it is very important to keep your Florida DUI insurance in effect by paying your premiums on time.
The Florida FR44 program for alcohol related driving offenses has been in effect since October 2007, and in February 2008 the program started. Florida drivers who are required to carry DUI insurance must have the following minimum coverage:
- $100,000 in bodily injury per individual
- $300,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 in property damage
Let UltraCar Insurance be your Florida DUI insurance provider. We work with top insurance companies to find the best FR44 rate and policy to meet your needs. Get your competitive Florida FR44 insurance quotes by submitting our secure online quote form, or call to speak with one of our Florida licensed agents today!