After a Florida DUI conviction, you’ll be required to purchase Florida FR44 insurance if you want to reinstate your driver’s license. The date you will need to file an FR44 certificate depends on your probationary period. The length of time a driver’s license is suspended can vary, depending on the circumstances of each case.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is a serious crime in the state of Florida. If you have been convicted of Florida DUI or have admitted to driving while intoxicated, your driver’s license will be suspended for a certain period of time.
What is Florida FR44?
In the state of Florida there are two types of high risk insurance: SR22 insurance is for license reinstatement after non-alcohol related motor vehicle violations; FR44 insurance is for license reinstatement after alcohol or drug related motor vehicle convictions. (See What’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 insurance?) The Florida FR44 insurance program for alcohol related driving offenses was put into effect in October 2007, and in February 2008 the program began. The costs of Florida DUI insurance FR44 are much higher than for Florida SR22 insurance. Individuals who file an FR44 insurance certificate must carry the minimum liability coverage set by the state of Florida:
- $100,000 bodily injury per individual
- $300,000 bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 property damage in one accident
Florida FR44 must be carried for a period of three years in most cases. You will have to keep your FR44 insurance premiums current, and not let your policy lapse, expire or cancel. If it does, your insurance provider will notify the Florida DHSMV by submitting an FR46 form, which results in immediate suspension of your driver’s license.
More detailed information about Florida DUI and Administrative suspension laws can be found on the Florida DHSMV website.
Florida FR44 Non Owner Insurance
Florida requires all persons who drive a vehicle to be insured, regardless if they own a vehicle or not; however, you don’t have to own a vehicle to purchase an FR44 certificate. If you don’t own a vehicle you will purchase non owner FR44 certificate, which is secondary insurance on any non owned vehicle you drive on occasion. (See Florida Non Owner FR44 for more information about non-owner insurance.) If you have an at-fault accident while driving a non-owned vehicle, your Florida FR44 policy pays claims after the primary insurance of the registered vehicle owner has reached its coverage limits.
When you need Florida DUI insurance for license reinstatement, get a quick, no-obligation Florida FR44 insurance quote from UltraCar Insurance. Call or start an online quote, and we’ll start surveying the best rates from top insurance companies. We look forward to helping you!