Utah DUI (driving under the influence) means being incapable of safely operating a vehicle due to alcohol or drug impairment. Driving a vehicle under the influence of drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol is also illegal. DUI is one of the most dangerous motor vehicle offenses drivers commit.
BAC limit in Utah
Utah became the only state to lower the legal blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) limit from .08 to .05 grams effective December 30, 2018. An evaluation by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows a nearly 20% drop in fatal alcohol-related motor vehicle deaths and accidents from 2016 to 2019 in Utah.
Misdemeanor and Felony DUI Offenses
Three classifications apply to most Utah DUI violations.:
Class B Misdemeanor applies to first and second DUI violations, in most cases.
Class A Misdemeanor applies if any of the following occur at the time of the offense:
- Another person sustained bodily injury resulting from the driver’s negligence.
- A person under the age of 16 was a passenger in the offender’s vehicle.
- The offender is 21 years or older, with a passenger under 18 years old in the car.
Third Degree Felony applies if any of these situations apply to the case:
- Serious bodily injury to another occurred as a result of the offense.
- The driver has had two or more prior DUI convictions within the past ten years.
- The driver has a previous automobile homicide or felony DUI conviction.
Utah DUI Penalties
What are the drunk driving penalties in Utah? Utah Code 41-6a-5 outlines the state’s DUI law prohibiting driving under the influence and reckless driving. There are many DUI penalties and combination of penalties the state can impose. Utah Code 41-6a-505 (Sentencing Requirements) provides a detailed structure of Utah DUI sentences. Based on the circumstances of each case, the court may adjust penalties such as length of suspensions, fines, jail time/community service, IID, and others.
Utah Ignition Interlock Requirements
The Utah DPS outlines information regarding the state’s Ignition Interlock Restriction (IID). Usually, all but a first Utah DUI conviction require the driver to install an ignition interlock device to clear an IID license suspension. (However, first offenders with a BAC of .05 or greater will require an IID.) Utah requires a state-certified IID provider to install the device.
UltraCar Insurance entrusts our Utah clients to Intoxalock®, a respected, state-certified ignition interlock device provider. We’re pleased to help you with both the SR22 DUI insurance and ignition interlock services you require for Utah license reinstatement.
Implied Consent and Zero Tolerance
Utah DUI laws include a Zero Tolerance (“Not a Drop“) provision for people under 21 years old. This provision makes it illegal for these drivers to operate a vehicle with any measurable amount of alcohol in their blood.
“Implied consent” means that any driver stopped by an officer for suspected DUI must submit a sobriety test if requested. Refusing to take a breath or blood test results in immediate suspension of the driver’s license for the following time periods:
- First offense – 18 months
- Second offense – 3 years
- Third offense – 3 years
In some cases, drivers with a first Utah DUI charge may be able to reduce a “driving under the influence” charge to “impaired driving.” An impaired driving charge may eliminate or reduce mandatory license suspension, fines, or jail time. The state will still consider an impaired driving charge a prior DUI offense if the individual gets a subsequent DUI conviction within ten years. People with a very high BAC test result cannot reduce a DUI to an impaired driving charge.
- Non Owner SR22 Insurance Utah
- Cheap non owners SR22 insurance
- SR22 and Ignition Interlock
- Distracted Driving & SR22 Insurance
- Cheap Affordable SR22 Insurance
- How SR22 insurance costs are determined
- Cross-State SR22 Insurance
License reinstatement after Utah DUI
When you’re eligible for license reinstatement, talk with an UltraCar Insurance agent for a fast Utah SR22 insurance filing. We’re an established provider of Utah DUI insurance and make it easy to finalize your reinstatement requirements! Call or click the quote button today.
by UltraCar Insurance