Driving under the influence (DUI) in Iowa is called OWI – operating while intoxicated. If you have an Iowa OWI conviction and don’t own a vehicle, you’ll need to get no car DUI insurance Iowa (Iowa SR22 insurance). A licensed insurance provider submits this filing with the state to reinstate your license.
After an OWI license suspension, obtaining an Iowa non-owner SR22 insurance filing allows you to get a temporary restricted license (TRL). To be eligible for a TRL, the court may require you to install an ignition interlock device on any vehicle you operate.
What is Iowa OWI?
The Iowa OWI (Operating While Intoxicated) Law prohibits operating a motor vehicle under the influence of:
- An alcoholic drink, another drug, or a combination of these substances.
- Alcohol over BAC limits (see blood alcohol concentration limits below).
- Any quantity of a controlled substance in a person’s blood or urine.
Iowa blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limits are:
- .08% or more for drivers 21 and older.
- .04% or greater for commercial vehicle drivers.
- .02% or more for drivers under age 21 (“Zero Tolerance”).
In Iowa, you can be charged with OWI even if your car is not moving. If you’re found intoxicated in a parked vehicle with the engine running or the key in the ignition, this falls under the definition of “operation” under Iowa OWI law.
Iowa also has an Implied Consent Law. This law states that anyone who accepts an Iowa driver’s license implicitly agrees to take a sobriety test when a law enforcement officer reasonably suspects operating under the influence. If someone refuses to test, the state will revoke their license for one year or two years if previous OWI violations are on their record. Refusing to take a sobriety test requires getting no car DUI insurance Iowa for license reinstatement.
Iowa OWI penalties
Listed below are penalties for violating Iowa Code 2021, Section 321J.2. The court may assign restitution, other fines, or criminal penalties.
First OWI violation:
A first OWI conviction is a serious misdemeanor. Penalties the state may impose:
- Jail time: Forty-eight hours up to one year, less time served or in a court-ordered program.
- Probation in place of jail confinement, upon certain conditions.
- Fines: $1,250, less $625 when the defendant presents a TRL to the court.
- Civil penalties & fees: As determined by the court.
- License revocation: 180 days up to one year.
- Ignition Interlock Device: If the person wants a TRL, the state requires installing an IID in the vehicle they drive.
- Complete a substance abuse evaluation/treatment/prevention or other DUI programs.
Second OWI violation:
A second OWI violation is an aggravated misdemeanor. Penalties include:
- Jail or prison time: Seven days to two years.
- Fines: $1,875 to $6,250, plus surcharges and fees.
- License revocation: One year or two years if license revocation is due to refusal to test.
- Ignition Interlock Device: The state requires IID installation in the vehicle the person drives if they want a TRL.
- Assignment to substance abuse evaluation/treatment/prevention programs determined by the court.
Three or more OWI violations:
Three or more OWI violations are Class D felonies, which include all of the following penalties:
- Prison or jail time: Minimum of thirty days up to five years.
- Fines: $3,125 up to to $9,375 plus surcharges and fees.
- License revocation: Six years.
- Substance abuse evaluation/treatment and other substance abuse prevention programs the court may assign.
- Sentencing as a habitual offender if appropriate.
Penalties for OWI violators under age 21
As mentioned earlier, Iowa has a “zero tolerance” OWI policy for drivers under 21 years old. The penalties for these Iowa drivers include:
- License revocation: If the person is under age 18, the length of revocation is until they turn 18 or when the revocation expires (whichever is longer). For persons with a BAC under .08%, license revocation is 60 days for the first violation or 90 days for subsequent offenses.
- Fines: $200.
- Substance abuse awareness program: The court may require first-time offenders under age 21 to attend specific DUI programs.
- No TRL: The person cannot obtain a temporary restricted license during the revocation period.
No Car DUI insurance Iowa for license reinstatement
After an Iowa OWI license suspension, the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) requires you to take the following steps to reinstate your license:
- Pay a civil penalty of $200.
- Complete a DOT-approved drinking driver course.
- Complete a substance abuse evaluation/treatment/rehabilitation program approved by the DOT.
- Obtain a no car DUI insurance Iowa policy and file a proof of SR22 insurance certificate* with the DOT.
- If applicable, present proof of installation of an ignition interlock device** on any vehicle operated.
* The Iowa Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law pertains to anyone who loses their driving privileges due to a conviction, judgment, or violation of the OWI law. The law requires that after a license suspension or revocation, you must show financial responsibility. This requirement usually lasts for two years.
** UltraCar Insurance partners with Intoxalock, an Iowa state-approved ignition interlock provider.
How much does Iowa non-owner SR22 insurance cost?
Depending on the insurance company and your driving record (among other factors), Iowa non-owner SR22 insurance averages about $390 per year. However, you might pay as low as $160 to $260 per year by shopping around. Let UltraCar Insurance do the rate shopping for you. We’ll find a cheap affordable SR22 insurance that’s right for you.
For future reference, check our helpful tips about how to get lower insurance rates.
Iowa OWI References
- Iowa Department of Education – OWI in Iowa brochure
- Iowa DOT – Driver License Suspensions and Revocations
How to get Iowa non-owner DUI insurance
UltraCar Insurance will help you get SR22 DUI insurance to reinstate your license. Our licensed agents are here to simplify the process of getting no car DUI insurance Iowa. Call or start an online quote today!
This article was last updated on March 9th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance