When you have a Florida DUI or DWI conviction, you’ll become familiar with Florida DUI penalties, laws, and Florida FR44 insurance requirements. Based on your case, you’ll have to meet specific conditions to reinstate your license.
Reinstating your license after a DUI violation
After a mandatory license suspension, you’ll have to complete specific Florida FR44 insurance requirements to be eligible for license reinstatement. You likely have to complete a driver improvement course, pay reinstatement fees, or other actions based on the circumstances of your case.
Once you satisfy these requirements, you’ll file a Florida FR44 certificate with the state. An insurance provider will submit this filing electronically with Florida HSMV using your nine-digit case number, which starts with a 4 for FR44 cases.
If you own a vehicle, your agent issues an owner/owner-operator auto insurance policy with an FR44 endorsement. And if you don’t own a car, you’ll get a Florida non-owner FR44 policy for license reinstatement. These filings include:
- Personal information: your name, address, driver’s license number, case number
- Vehicle information: year, make and model, and VIN (vehicle identification number)
Florida FR44 insurance requirements and payment considerations
Getting a DUI conviction presents a financial burden of the high cost of paying for FR44 insurance, with or without a vehicle. Florida FR44 insurance requirements call for paying for six months of coverage at a time in full. There are no monthly payment options available for this insurance, and it is non-cancelable. Paying a six-month premium all at once is likely difficult for most people, especially if they’re insuring a vehicle, if it’s a late model, or if they’re financing it.
Minimum liability insurance requirements for FR44 policies
The minimum insurance coverage for standard and SR22 insurance is 10/20/10. Compare that to the minimum coverage for FR44 DUI insurance, which is much higher: 100/300/50.
- $100,000 bodily injury per person
- $300,000 bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 property damage
More details about Florida DUI and Administrative Suspension Laws are available on the Florida HSMV website.
Let UltraCar Insurance find the best FR44 insurance solution for you at an affordable rate. Our licensed agents specialize in Florida FR44 insurance requirements and filing. Click to start an online quote or call us for a no-obligation consultation. We’ll help you achieve your goals and put you back in the driver’s seat!
This article was last updated on August 16th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance