If an officer stops you for DUI and you’re also uninsured, you’ll need to file a non-cancelable FR44 Florida certificate for license reinstatement.
Why do I need non-cancelable FR44 Florida insurance?
Driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are two of the most dangerous motor vehicle violations. Impaired or drunk driving without insurance increases the seriousness of these offenses. An FR44 certificate is also known as “Florida Uniform Financial Responsibility Form FR-44”. If the state grants your request for license reinstatement, it wants a guarantee that you have liability insurance coverage.
Features of non-cancelable insurance
Non-cancelable FR44 Florida insurance is specifically for DUI-related violations in cases when the driver is also uninsured. FR44 policies have considerably higher minimum coverage requirements of 100/300/50.
You have to buy non-cancelable insurance for a term of at least six months or twelve months. The first six-month premium is payable in full as soon as policy underwriting is complete. At that time, you cannot cancel the policy for any reason.
According to Florida Statute 627.7275, once the policy goes to underwriting, the insured cannot cancel the policy for any reason. Only the insurance underwriter can cancel the policy before the first 60 days of the term, but not after that. After 60 days the policy is not cancelable, making it a virtual guarantee of financial responsibility for six months.
License Reinstatement with Non-Cancelable FR44 Florida
When you choose an insurance provider, they will submit your FR44 policy for underwriting. When underwriting is complete, the underwriter will notify the Florida HSMV. At that time, you will pay the first six-month premium, and your insurance agent files the certificate electronically with the Florida HSMV. At that point, you will not be able to cancel the policy during the six-month term.
You’ll have to keep your policy current, without lapse. If you fail to renew the policy after six months (or twelve months), there is a costly reinstatement fee of $150, $250, or $500.
FR44 insurance without a vehicle
Count on UltraCar Insurance for easy filing of your non-cancelable FR44 Florida certificate. Click to start a quote now, or give us a call today!
NOTE: If your no-insurance license suspension is not DUI-related, see Florida SR22 Paid in Full insurance.
This article was last updated on May 15th, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance