DUI laws in Washington deal with penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, medications, or a combination of these substances. Intoxicants include legal or illegal drugs, and prescription or over the counter medications. More than you realize, these substances interfere with your ability to react while operating a vehicle. The minimum blood alcohol content (BAC) for a DUI charge is .02% if you’re under age 21, or .08% if you’re age 21 and older.
Penalties for driving under the influence
DUI laws in Washington contain some of the most strict penalties in the country and are costly in many ways. Depending on your situation, you can expect personal and financial consequences such as:
- Having your license suspended (90 days to 4 years)
- Paying fines and fees ($865 to $5,000)
- Incarceration (24 hours to 1 year or longer)
- Attending a DUI education class
- Installing an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)
- Buying SR22 high-risk insurance for license reinstatement
License reinstatement requirements
The state of Washington allows you to regain your driving privileges after a DUI license suspension. Eligibility for license reinstatement depends on a variety of factors, such as your BAC when tested, and if you have a prior DUI record. The state may require you to apply for a Washington ignition interlock driver’s license (IIL) and install an ignition interlock device. You’ll also have to purchase Washington SR22 insurance and keep it current for a specific time.
A new type of impaired driving law
In July 2017, the state of Washington enacted a new distracted driving law, placing it in the category of DUI. The DUI-E Washington law (driving under the influence of electronics) penalizes drivers for using cell phones and other electronic devices while operating a vehicle.
More about DUI Laws in Washington
You can find more information about driving under the influence in Washington on the Washington DOL website. The following articles on our website are also related:
UltraCar Insurance can help you comply with DUI laws in Washington by issuing an owner or non-owner SR22 policy. Our agents are licensed in the state of Washington, providing quick SR22 quotes and accurate filing of your certificate.
This article was last updated on June 5th, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance