If you own a motorcycle and need to file a Virginia FR44 Insurance certificate, you can obtain Virginia FR44 motorcycle insurance. UltraCar Insurance can endorse your FR44 certificate to a motorcycle insurance policy.
To reinstate your license after a Virginia DUI violation, Virginia FR44 motorcycle insurance may be a less costly option. Endorsing an FR44 certificate to a motorcycle insurance policy can cost less than an endorsing it to an auto policy. Since FR44 insurance is usually required for an average of 3 years, that can make a difference to your budget.
To reinstate your license in Florida or Virginia, you’ll need to know the difference between SR22 and FR44 insurance. These are the only two states that require different certificates for DUI violations and non-DUI offenses. You’ll file an SR22 certificate for motor vehicle violations not involving alcohol or drugs. You’ll need to file an FR44 form for alcohol or other substance-related DUI violations.
When people in Florida and Virginia need to reinstate their license, they often ask, what’s the difference between SR22 FR44 insurance? These are the only states with two types of license reinstatement certificate. An SR22 insurance certificate is for non-alcohol related motor vehicle violations. The FR44 insurance certificate is for DUI or DWI violations.
FR44 Virginia is a certificate of financial responsibility. After a DUI or DWI conviction, you can reinstate your license when you file this document with the DMV. The high-risk FR-44 and SR-22 Insurance certifications in VA are attached to an auto insurance policy if you own a vehicle, or to a non-owner insurance policy if you don’t. You must always stay current with your Virginia FR44 insurance payments to avoid another license suspension.
Drivers who commit an alcohol-related motor vehicle offense will have to buy FR44 Virginia insurance to reinstate their license.
If you have a suspended license after a conviction for DUI in Virginia, you can regain driving privileges by filing an FR44 certificate with the DMV. After you’ve satisfied all license reinstatement requirements, FR44 insurance will allow you to drive legally with a restricted license.
Driving a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs is against the law in all 50 states. DUI in Virginia penalties occur if you’re 21 years or older with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. The blood alcohol limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02%.
If you’re eligible for license reinstatement after a DUI offense, a Virginia FR44 insurance certificate is one of the requirements you must complete. Filing this certificate, and keeping your insurance policy current while the state requires it allows you to reinstate your driving privileges. You can get FR44 insurance if you own a vehicle or not, and the certificate can also attach to a motorcycle insurance policy.
Any person with a DUI conviction in Virginia must carry Virginia FR44 insurance to reinstate their license. Two states currently use an FR44 filing system specifically for alcohol-related offenses: Florida and Virginia. Virginia was the first state to adopt this separate filing system in 2008. Electronic filing is the usual method of submitting the certificate to the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This allows for faster processing and better efficiency. If you’re already working with someone at the DMV who requires you to file manually, UltraCar Insurance can file manually at your request.