What is FR44 Insurance?

What is FR44 insurance?

Questions about FR44 insurance? We have the answers. Call us today or get a quick quote now.

What is FR44 insurance?

Last updated on September 21st, 2019 by

You may wonder what is FR44 insurance? Florida and Virginia have two separate categories of high risk insurance certificate for license reinstatement – SR22 and FR44. FR44 insurance is required after a violation of Florida DUI/DWI laws. The insurance coverage requirements for FR44 insurance are higher than for SR22 insurance because of the more serious nature of alcohol related violations. FR44 insurance must be carried for 3 to 5 years, without a lapse. Owner and non owner FR44 certificates are available.

What is FR44 insurance? Many states offer an SR22 insurance program that enable drivers to reinstate their driver’s license after suspension for motor vehicle offenses or legal judgments. However, in Florida and Virginia there is a category for non-alcohol or drug related offenses (SR22), and a separate FR44 insurance category for alcohol and drug related motor vehicle offenses. Alcohol or drug related vehicle offenses in Florida and Virginia require you to file an FR44 certificate for license reinstatement.

Virginia was the first state to implement an FR44 insurance program, and Florida was the second state to adopt this program. FR44 is a certificate of financial responsibility that is filed with the Florida or Virginia DMV after a DUI or DWI conviction. An FR44 filing allows an individual’s driving privileges to be reinstated, and it guarantees the state that the insurance will be maintained during the license suspension period. Virginia and Florida FR44 certificates are closely monitored by the insurance provider who filed the certificate. If the policy lapses, the insurance provider notifies the state immediately, resulting in license suspension. FR44 insurance is usually required to be carried for three years without lapse in coverage.

An FR44 insurance certificate should not be canceled before your obligation is completed. If you move from Florida or Virginia to another state, please be aware of what happens to your FR44 if you move out of state.

Filing an FR44 certificate costs more than filing an SR22 certificate, because the minimum liability coverage requirements are higher for Florida and Virginia DUI insurance than for SR22 policies. The minimum coverage requirements for a Virginia FR44 insurance certificate is $50/$100/$40, and the minimum coverage requirements for a Florida FR44 certificate is $100/$300/$50. In addition to the higher minimum coverage requirements, your insurance premiums will increase for FR44 insurance.

FR44 insurance can be purchased with or without a vehicle. If you own a vehicle, a liability or full coverage insurance policy must be purchased first, and the FR44 certificate is added to the policy as a rider or endorsement. If you own a motorcycle, an FR44 certificate can be endorsed to your motorcycle insurance policy:

If you don’t own any type of vehicle, you will need to purchase a non owner FR44 policy. A non owner FR44 policy will only have liability coverage and cannot contain comprehensive and collision coverage, since the policy does not include a vehicle.

UltraCar Insurance agents are licensed in Florida and Virginia to file your FR44 certificate electronically, and provide you with your copy in less than 30 minutes. If you need to know more about what is FR44 insurance, contact us. For cheap FR44 insurance quotes, give us a call or start a quote today!


Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!

* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.