The state of Florida requires all drivers to carry liability insurance coverage on their vehicles. If you fail to comply with the law, your driver’s license can be suspended. SR22 insurance Florida is high risk insurance certificate for license reinstatement that can be purchased whether you own a vehicle or not. You’ll be required to buy it if you want to continue to drive while your license is suspended.
What is SR22 insurance Florida?
SR22 insurance isn’t an insurance policy; rather it is a financial responsibility form an insurance provider files with the state to reinstate your license. The certificate guarantees the state that you will remain insured for a future period of time that the state requires it, without letting it lapse. Typically, SR22 insurance Florida must be maintained for three years. The certificate is closely monitored by your insurance provider. If your SR22 policy lapses for any reason during that time, your insurance provider submits an SR26 form to the Florida DHSMV to notify them that you are no longer insured. At that point your driver’s license will be suspended again.
If you own a vehicle, your SR22 insurance Florida certificate will be endorsed to your auto insurance policy. If you don’t own a vehicle your SR22 certificate will be endorsed to a non owner insurance policy. For more information on Florida Non Owner SR22 Insurance, check these pages on our website: Cheapest Florida Non Owner SR22 Insurance, Florida No Car Insurance.
Why do I need to buy SR22 insurance Florida?
SR22 insurance can be required for a variety of reasons. Suppose your auto insurance policy has expired or been canceled, and you’ve just been pulled over by the police. In many cases, driving without valid auto insurance will require that you carry SR22 insurance for a specified amount of time. Other instances in which SR22 insurance Florida may be required are:
- License suspension or revoked license
- Repeated traffic violations or getting an excessive number of tickets in a short time period
- Accident while driving without insurance
- Legal judgments
- Reckless driving
- Child support
Below is the Florida point system reflecting points (offenses) against a driver’s record that call for a specific license suspension period:
- 12 points within a period of a year will receive a 30 day suspension of their license of their driver’s license
- 18 points within an 18 month period will receive a three month suspension of their driver’s license
- 24 points within a 36 month period will receive a one year suspension of their driver’s license
The point system is more strict for drivers under the age of 18; minor drivers will have their license suspended with just six points accumulated on their record over a period of one year.
UltraCar Insurance provides quick, competitive Florida SR22 insurance quotes from top companies to maximize your savings. If you have any questions, our licensed agents will be glad to provide the answers. Start an SR22 insurance Florida quote now, or call today!