Every state has laws that impose serious penalties for driving under the influence, and Nevada DUI laws are no exception. Just one miscalculation by a driver who decides to drive after drinking or taking any type of drug can have terrible personal and financial consequences. If you’re reading this article, you’re likely looking for some information about Nevada DUI laws (NRS 484C) and advice about obtaining SR22 insurance Nevada to reinstate your license. When you’re eligible for license reinstatement, UltraCar Insurance can assist you with this part of the Nevada license reinstatement process, and answer your questions about SR22 DUI Insurance.
It can be easier than you think to be pulled over for drunk driving or DUI in Nevada, and we hope that all drivers take precautions against it. Behaviors that law enforcement look for when deciding to pull someone over for a Nevada DUI laws violation are: wide turns, driving too slowly, speeding, running a stoplight or stop sign, swerving, drifting between lanes, driving speed variations, stopping for no apparent reason, driving at night without headlights, and causing a near-collision.
As a licensed Nevada driver, you should be aware that if you’re pulled over for suspicion of DUI/DWI you are obligated to submit to a Breathalyzer, BAC (blood alcohol concentration) or other drug-related test, or risk suspension of your drivers license (Nevada Implied Consent Law). The BAC limit in Nevada is 0.08% for adults, 0.04% for commercial drivers and 0.02% for drivers under the age of 21. However, consuming alcohol is not the only consideration in DUI cases; you can be cited for DUI of prescription drugs, marijuana and other legal and illegal substances.
Penalties for Violating Nevada DUI Laws
Driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated are considered the most grave of motor vehicle offenses, for good reason. It puts your life in jeopardy, and it endangers the lives of your passengers and other innocent people on the road. For this reason, the fines and penalties for DUI/DWI are more serious than for other moving violations, and become more punitive with multiple offenses.
- Depending on the circumstances, the penalties for a first Nevada DUI can include any or all of the following: a fine of $400-$1,000; requirement to take DUI school or substance abuse treatment program, license revocation for 90 days, and a jail sentence between 2 days to 6 months or 96 hours of community service.
- A second Nevada DUI offense can include a fine of $750-$1,000, a 1-year license revocation, a 10-day to 6-month jail sentence or house arrest, 100-200 hours of community service, suspension of your car registration, and substance abuse treatment.
- A third Nevada DUI violation can include a $2,000-$5,000 fine, 3-year license revocation, 1-6 year prison sentence, and suspension of your car registration.
- Causing death or serious injury while driving under the influence/driving while intoxicated can result in a $2,000-$5,000 fine, 3-year license revocation and incarceration between 2-20 years. This applies to first and subsequent DUI/DWI convictions.
- Separate criminal charges, depending on the circumstances.
Marijuana DUI Law in Nevada
As of November 8, 2016 recreational marijuana use for persons 21 years of age or older is legal in Nevada; however, driving under the influence of marijuana is not legal. A person is defined under Nevada DUI Laws as being under the influence of marijuana if it has impaired their ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. A misdemeanor charge of marijuana DUI in Nevada (NRS 484C.110) can be imposed if :
- A urine sample shows a concentration of at least 10 nanograms of marijuana per ml or 15 nanograms/ml of marijuana metabolite, OR
- A blood test shows 2 nanograms of marijuana per ml or 5 nanograms/ml of marijuana metabolite.
Marijuana DUI charges can be contested in court, but if an attorney cannot have the charge reduced or dismissed, a DUI conviction will remain on record for 7 years.
Penalties for a first marijuana DUI conviction include any of the following or additional penalties, depending on the circumstances: 2 days to 6 months in jail or 24 to 96 hours community service, $400 to $1,000 in court costs, a requirement to attend DUI school, and a 90-day suspension of the driver’s license.
How to reinstate your license after a Nevada DUI Laws Violation
When the state of Nevada has indicated that you’re eligible for reinstatement of your license, you’ll need to contact a high risk insurance provider that is licensed in Nevada. The agent you choose will attach an SR22 certificate to your auto insurance policy and file it with the Nevada DMV. If you need license reinstatement and don’t own a car your agent will file a Nevada Non Owner SR22 certificate. Another option in Arizona is to purchase Broad Form SR22 insurance, a policy with very low rates, but very limited coverage. A Nevada SR22 certificate must be carried for 3 years without interruption.
Talk with an UltraCar Insurance agent about Nevada DUI laws and SR22 insurance, or start a quick Nevada SR22 quote now.