The most serious motor vehicle offenses involve violating Missouri DWI laws. DWI (driving while impaired) and DUI (driving under the influence) puts the driver’s life in jeopardy. But more importantly, it endangers the lives of other innocent people.
Using alcohol and/or drugs (whether illegal or prescription) causes impaired judgment and lowered reaction times. This leads to greatly increased risk of causing an accident. That puts you in the position of losing your driver’s license, which requires you to carry Missouri SR22 insurance to continue driving legally.
Missouri DWI Laws, Provisions and Penalties
A major provision of Missouri DWI laws is Implied Consent. This means that all licensed drivers will submit to a DUI test if an officer requests it. If you refuse to take a breathalyzer test, the state will automatically suspend your license for one year.
An officer tests your BrAC (breath alcohol concentration) on the scene, or your BAC (blood alcohol concentration) after detaining you. The state considers you to be below the threshold of impairment if your breath or blood test is lower than:
- 0.08% if you’re 21 years or older
- 0.02% if you’re under 21
- 0.04% if you’re a commercial driver
Two sections of Missouri DWI laws come into effect if you’re stopped or arrested for suspicion of DUI/DWI: Criminal Law and Administrative Law.
- Criminal Law deals with the ticket issued for the offense. The court forwards a copy of the conviction to the Missouri Driver License Bureau. Here, points are assessed to your driving record based on the conviction, and your license may be suspended or revoked. (See Tickets and Points FAQs on the MODOR website.)
- Administrative Law assigns a separate suspension or revocation based on your blood alcohol content at the time, or if you refused to test.
See the Missouri Department of Revenue (MODOR) website for more detailed information about driving while intoxicated.
License reinstatement after a DUI/DWI violation
There are several steps to take for Missouri license reinstatement following a Missouri DWI laws conviction:
1. The Missouri Driver License Bureau will send you a letter when it suspends your license. Here you’ll see the reason/reasons for suspension and other instructions. You’ll also find this information on your state driving record, which you can obtain for a fee from your nearest Missouri license office.
2. The letter/letters indicate the date/dates you can apply for license reinstatement. The state may require you to complete a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP). You’ll then file the necessary forms and pay the required fees with the Missouri Driver License Bureau.
3. You’ll need to file a Missouri SR22 insurance financial responsibility form.
You can find more detailed information about Missouri license reinstatement on the Missouri DOR website.
Missouri SR22 for license reinstatement
See these pages on our website for more information about SR22 insurance after a Missouri DWI laws violation:
Missouri SR22 is a high risk insurance certificate the state requires to reinstate your license. Typically, you’ll have to carry SR22 insurance for 3 years. When you’re eligible for license reinstatement, UltraCar Insurance helps make the process easier for you. We have low rates for SR22 insurance Missouri or Missouri non owner SR22 insurance. For affordable Missouri SR22 quotes, click the quote button or talk with one of our licensed agents today!
This article was last updated on May 11th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance