×
DUI Insurance Indiana

DUI insurance in Indiana

Need SR22 insurance after an Indiana OWI conviction? Get your license reinstated with DUI insurance Indiana. Call us today!

DUI insurance in Indiana

by

When you have an Indiana OWI conviction, reinstating your license requires you to carry DUI insurance Indiana. Vehicle owners and people who don’t own a car can get an SR22 attachment to their auto or non-owner insurance policy. Your insurance rate will increase an average of 40% over standard auto insurance rates. Most people need to carry SR22 DUI insurance for three years. Persons designated as habitual traffic violators (HTV) lose their driving privileges for five to ten years.

Indiana uses the term OWI (operating while intoxicated) instead of DUI (driving under the influence). Following a license suspension after an OWI conviction, DUI insurance in Indiana (SR22 insurance) is necessary to reinstate your driving privileges.

Drivers are aware that driving after drinking alcohol often leads to unpleasant outcomes. Indiana is 43rd in the US for drunk driving violations. Over 14,000 people are arrested each year for DUI/OWI violations, including drivers under 21. Indiana has a Zero Tolerance Law to address the problem of underage DUI. This law makes it illegal for people under 21 to drive with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or over. Depending on someone’s weight, one can of beer may result in a BAC over that limit.

What to know about DUI Insurance Indiana

You must file an SR22 certificate with the state to get a restricted/specialized driver’s license (hardship license). When you own a vehicle, your insurance provider attaches the SR22 certificate to your auto insurance policy. But what if you don’t own a car? In that case, the SR22 is endorsed to an Indiana non-owner car insurance policy. Your insurance agent files the certificate with the BMV to reinstate your license. You’ll have to carry SR22 insurance for three years or less, in most cases. The fee for filing an SR22 insurance certificate in Indiana ranges between $15 to $50.

Coverage for both owner and-non-owner insurance must meet the state minimum requirements. However, vehicle owners can get additional coverage if desired. State minimum insurance coverage in Indiana is:

  • Bodily injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage liability: $25,000 minimum per accident
  • Bodily injury – Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property damage – Uninsured motorist: $25,000 minimum per accident (OPTIONAL)
  • Underinsured motorist bodily injury: $50,000 per person / $50,000 per accident minimum (OPTIONAL)
  • Medical coverage (OPTIONAL)

Is DUI insurance expensive?

After an Indiana OWI conviction, insurance companies will consider you a high-risk driver. As a result, your rate for DUI insurance in Indiana will increase regardless of the insurance company. Standard insurance companies usually impose a high surcharge or cancel your current insurance policy after a DUI conviction. A high-risk insurance provider like UltraCar Insurance can find you a competitive SR22 insurance rate if this happens to you.

Your insurance rate will increase more after an Indiana OWI conviction than for any other motor vehicle violation. If an accident is involved, even more so. Therefore, it’s wise to search and compare your insurance options. In Indiana, the average increase in insurance rates after a DUI is around 40%. If you own a vehicle, average annual rates for DUI insurance in Indiana can range from $1,200 to $2,200, depending on other underwriting factors.

If you don’t own a car, the average yearly cost of non-owner SR22 DUI insurance is $320.* However, depending on your driving record and other considerations, non-owner insurance after a DUI can cost up to $600 annually.

* Based on liability insurance coverage of 25/50/25, unless a court orders otherwise.

Refusing a chemical test for Indiana OWI

Refusing to take a breath or blood alcohol sobriety test does more harm than you may think. Drivers who refuse to test face a one to two-year automatic suspension of driving privileges. In addition, a judge may suspend a person’s driver’s license beyond two years, depending on the seriousness of the violation.

Habitual Traffic Violator (HTV)

When drivers have repeated motor vehicle violations over ten consecutive years, the Indiana HTV law assigns these penalties:

  1. Persons who commit two major violations that result in injury or death receive a ten-year license suspension.
  2. Getting three major offenses results in a ten-year license suspension.
  3. The consequence for nine traffic violations plus one major offense is a five-year license suspension.

Habitual traffic violators whose BAC (blood alcohol concentration) was too high may have to install an ignition interlock device. The state may also impose an IID requirement for a second OWI offense. In the case of HTV drivers who don’t own a vehicle, this can complicate their ability to get a restricted license. Unless they decide to buy a car, they would have to install the IID in a family member or close friend’s vehicle.

For our clients’ IID requirements, UltraCar Insurance partners with Intoxalock® IID services.

Indiana BMV Resources

HTV Law and Common Traffic Violations
License Suspension and Reinstatement

If you need DUI insurance in Indiana for license reinstatement, let the SR22 specialists at UltraCar Insurance help. Give us a call or start an online quote today!

Circle
 

Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!


 
* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.