South Carolina SR22 Insurance Cost

South Carolina SR22 insurance cost is a concern when you need high risk insurance for license reinstatement. The factors considered in determining your SR22 cost are similar, regardless of the insurance company that files your SR22 certificate. These factors vary from person to person.

One of the most common questions we’re asked about license reinstatement is, “what is my South Carolina SR22 insurance cost per month?” The cost can be anywhere between $60 to several hundred dollars per month. Your cost will be lower for a non owner SR22 insurance policy, and higher if you own a vehicle or want full coverage insurance. If your suspension is for a DUI offense, you’ll pay much higher premiums for South Carolina SR22 insurance.

South Carolina Implied Consent Law

South Carolina Implied Consent Law

As a licensed driver, the South Carolina Implied Consent Law means that you implicitly agree to take a DUI test if an officer requests you to do so. Refusing to submit a breath or BAC test results in a 6-month to one year license suspension. To receive a restricted license during your suspension, you’ll need to carry SR22 insurance.

The South Carolina Implied Consent Law requires you to take a blood, breath or urine test if you’re arrested by an officer for suspicion of DUI/DWI. This law means that if you operate a vehicle in the state of South Carolina, you automatically consent to being tested for alcohol or drugs if you are lawfully arrested by an officer who has reason to suspect that you are driving under the influence. If you refuse to take the test, the penalty is an automatic six-month driver’s license suspension for the first offense. The six-month suspension applies only if you have not had any previous violations of South Carolina DUI laws within the past 10 years. Otherwise, the suspension period is up to one year.

SR22 Insurance South Carolina

SR22 Insurance South Carolina

To continue to legally drive after a license suspension, you can obtain a restricted license by purchasing SR22 insurance South Carolina. Filing the SR22 certificate, tied to either an auto insurance policy or a non owners insurance policy, starts this process. Thereafter you’ll need to keep your policy in effect at all times during your license suspension.

SR22 insurance South Carolina is a certificate of financial responsibility you must purchase as a condition to reinstate your license. South Carolina requires all vehicle owners to carry a minimum amount of auto liability insurance coverage on their vehicles. Violating this requirement can result in license suspension, which can be costly.