Colorado Auto Insurance Laws

Colorado Auto Insurance Laws

There are many ways to make sure that you comply with the provisions of Colorado auto insurance laws. Being properly insured is one of the most important and obvious to comply with. Other ways include knowing what to do in case of an accident and learning how to be a more defensive driver. Being more aware of auto insurance laws can save you money as well as potential problems as a driver.

Colorado auto insurance laws require any driver who operates a motor vehicle in the state to have minimum liability insurance coverage set by the state. The minimum Colorado auto insurance coverage required by the state is:

  • $25, 000 bodily injury for one person injured in one accident
  • $50,000 bodily injury for two or more persons injured in one accident
  • $15,000 property damage incurred in one accident
Colorado DUI Laws

Colorado DUI Laws

Because of the high potential for injury and death resulting from drinking and driving, Colorado DUI laws call for strong penalties for violations. DUI laws outline specifics of driving under the influence of alcohol and illegal or prescription drugs, and the penalties for first and subsequent violations. Many people may feel that they’re capable of driving safely after a drink or two, but it is never completely safe to drive after drinking, smoking marijuana or taking prescription drugs.

As in all states, Colorado DUI laws prohibit driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and outline the consequences of doing so. The terms DUI and DWI have much the same meaning and effect, but there is a slight difference between DUI and DWI Colorado. DUI stands for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DWI stands for driving while intoxicated by alcohol.

Colorado Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Colorado Non Owner SR22 Insurance

Colorado non owner SR22 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility that’s tied to a non owner insurance policy. It’s a document the DMV requires for license reinstatement when the individual doesn’t own a vehicle. This kind of insurance covers a person, rather than a vehicle.

If you want to reinstate your driver’s license and don’t own a vehicle, you’ll need to buy Colorado non owner SR22 insurance. The state will require you to carry non owner SR22 insurance for a certain period of time, depending on the circumstances of your suspension. If you’re required to have SR22 insurance and are caught driving without it, your license will be suspended again.

SR22 Insurance Colorado

SR22 Insurance Colorado

To continue being able to drive after a license suspension, you’ll need to buy a certificate called SR22 insurance Colorado. You can get SR22 insurance if you own a vehicle or not. SR22 is for high risk drivers. It guarantees the state that you will be covered by liability insurance during your suspension period.

Once your eligible for license reinstatement you’ll need SR22 insurance Colorado, which is a certificate of financial responsibility. You risk license suspension when you operate a vehicle without minimum liability insurance coverage. Other reasons for driver’s license suspension can include: