As in all states, Colorado DUI laws prohibit driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, and outline the consequences of doing so. The terms DUI and DWI have much the same meaning and effect, but there is a slight difference between DUI and DWI Colorado. DUI stands for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. DWI stands for driving while intoxicated by alcohol. The concentration or level of alcohol in the blood determines whether you are charged with a DUI or DWI. The legal blood alcohol limit in Colorado is 0.08% for drivers over the age of 21, and 0.02% for drivers under the age of 21.
Some of the penalties outlined in Colorado DUI laws include revocation of your driver’s license for at least 9 months for a first DUI offense, a fine up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail, as well as community service. In addition, you will receive 8-12 points against your driving record, which increases your insurance premiums whether or not you own a vehicle.
Many standard auto insurance companies will terminate a driver’s policy when they become aware that there is a DUI conviction, which appears on the motor vehicle report. If your driver’s license has been suspended under Colorado DUI laws, UltraCar Insurance can rewrite your insurance with a solid, reputable company.
If you don’t own a vehicle, but simply want to reinstate your driver’s license, we can file a Colorado non owner SR22 insurance certificate with the Colorado DMV once you’re eligible to reinstate your driver’s license. An owner-operator SR22 will be filed, which is an endorsement or rider attached to non-owner insurance policy.
UltraCar Insurance agents are licensed in the state of Colorado, and can guide you through your options without obligation. We can file an owner or non owner Colorado SR22 insurance certificate on your behalf within an hour or less. Call us with your questions, or start a quote now.
This article was last updated on May 14th, 2022 by UltraCar Insurance