Colorado auto insurance laws require any driver who operates a motor vehicle in the state to have minimum liability insurance coverage set by the state. The minimum Colorado auto insurance coverage required by the state is:
- $25, 000 bodily injury for one person injured in one accident
- $50,000 bodily injury for two or more persons injured in one accident
- $15,000 property damage incurred in one accident
To comply with Colorado auto insurance laws, if you are involved in an accident, you should immediately contact the police after making certain that no one involved has a life-threatening injury. In a case of a serious injury, always call 911 first for help. It is also helpful to get some testimony if there are any witnesses available, which may help law enforcement offers determine which driver is at fault in the accident. The police report will indicate which driver is at fault, which is important in determining which driver’s insurance company will pay claims. If it is determined that you are not at fault, you will not be subject to a premium increase by your insurance company. On the other hand, if you are found to be at fault for the accident, you will most likely have an increase in your auto insurance premium.
Two important ways to avoid or reduce your chance of being involved in an accident is to be alert and aware of your surroundings, and not be distracted by your cell phone or loud music. Many intersection accidents occur when a driver has a green light or the right of way. When they have the right of way, some drivers develop a tunnel vision approach and fail to pay attention to the driver who has the red light – or to any other vehicles at all. A driver who isn’t paying attention to traffic lights can plow into the side of your vehicle while you’re crossing the intersection, causing serious damage or injury. This type of accident can be avoided altogether by always looking both ways before crossing an intersection, even when you have the green light or right of way. By doing this, you may notice a car is going too fast, likely with no intention of stopping.
Another important way to avoid problems with Colorado auto insurance laws is to be properly insured and current on your premiums, 1) so you’ll be covered in a case of an accident and 2) so you are in compliance with Colorado motor vehicle laws. One more rule of thumb we recommend is to have an extra, current insurance card in the glove compartment.
If you are involved in an accident, or pulled over with an expired insurance policy or no insurance at all, your driver’s license will be suspended under Colorado motor vehicle laws. When you are eligible for Colorado license reinstatement, Colorado auto insurance laws usually require you to carry SR22 insurance for a period of 3 years. A Colorado SR22 certificate is also called an “AAMVA Uniform Financial Responsibility Form”. An SR22 certificate is filed by your insurance provider with the Colorado DMV, and serves as a monitoring device to ensure that you remain properly insured at all times. If your Colorado SR22 policy ever lapses for any reason during the time you’re required to carry it, your license will be suspended once again.
UltraCar Insurance can help you observe Colorado auto insurance laws by filing an accurate Colorado SR22 certificate with the Colorado DMV. We’ll find a Colorado SR22 policy that suits your needs at an affordable rate. Contact us for your no-obligation Colorado SR22 insurance quotes today!
This article was last updated on November 6th, 2018 by UltraCar Insurance