×

SR22 Maine

When you need to file an SR22 Maine certificate, our agents will simplify the process! Click to start a quote or call today.

SR22 Maine

Last updated on February 15th, 2020 by

SR22 Maine is a certificate of financial responsibility. When you file the certificate with the state, it’s considered a guarantee of liability insurance coverage for a specific time. An SR22 certificate allows you to drive legally, as long as the insurance policy it’s tied to is kept in force.

To reinstate your license, the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) requires you to file an SR22 Maine certificate when you become eligible. Common reasons for license suspensions include:

  • Unpaid traffic tickets
  • Accumulating too many points
  • Unpaid traffic fines
  • Driving a vehicle without insurance
  • Unpaid child support
  • Careless or reckless driving
  • A legal judgment or court order
  • Drunk driving charges

What is SR22 Maine?

SR22 is a financial responsibility form issued by an authorized insurance company that files it with the Maine BMV. If you want to continue to drive during your license suspension, you must file this certificate, if you own a vehicle or not. It allows you to keep a valid driver’s license or to get a restricted license so you can drive to and from work or school.

The SR22 form is endorsed to an insurance policy – either your auto insurance or a non-owner insurance policy. You must maintain that policy without any interruption or lapse of coverage, in most cases for three years. Your insurance provider must notify the BMV if you miss even one premium payment. They do this by filing an SR26 form, which cancels your SR22 Maine certificate. At that time your license will be suspended again, and you’ll have to pay another reinstatement fee and file a new certificate. Therefore, it’s in your best interest to keep your insurance up to date.

If you don’t own a vehicle, you can buy Maine Non Owner SR22 Insurance. Non-owner insurance is less expensive than an SR22 Maine policy with a vehicle. If you buy a vehicle later, you can convert a non-owner policy to an owner-operator policy, and vice versa.

Liability insurance requirements in Maine

Following are the minimum liability coverage requirements for standard auto, owner, and non-owner SR22 Maine insurance:

  • $50,000 bodily injury per person per incident
  • $100,000 per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per incident
  • $50,000/$100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury for each incident
  • $2,000 medical payment coverage

Alcohol & drug-related motor vehicle offenses

Several terms are used for alcohol and/or drug-related offenses in the state of Maine. Violating these laws will require you to get SR22 DUI Insurance.

  • DUI (Driving Under the Influence) is a term that describes operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs or other chemicals.
  • DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) is a term used widely in the U.S. and includes impairment by any type of intoxicating substance.
  • OUI (Operating Under the Influence) is a more comprehensive term to describe operating any type of motor vehicle while under the influence of an intoxicant. This can include operating an automobile, boat, tractor, snowmobile, etc.

Penalties for DWI violations are tougher, especially for younger drivers. If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is higher than the legal limit, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device. The BAC limit in Maine is .08% for people age 21 and older. There is a “zero tolerance” rule for people under 21 years of age.

A traffic lawyer may be able to reduce some of the penalties that result from DUI charges. It may be tempting to try to fight a DUI/DWI/OUI charge. However, before getting legal assistance you should carefully weigh the cost of hiring an attorney against the benefits.

What if I have SR22 Maine and move out of state?

If you move to another state, you must still maintain your SR22 Maine insurance. The insurance company that handles your SR22 filing must be licensed in both states. Let’s say you moved from Maine to Nebraska. Your insurance provider must be licensed in Nebraska and Maine in order to process both SR22 certificates. UltraCar Insurance is licensed in 34 states and has assisted many clients who have relocated to a different state.

Who has the cheapest SR22 Maine insurance?

That’s a good question, but there is no single answer. SR22 Maine premiums are influenced by many factors:

  • Your driving record
  • Number and type of moving violations
  • Make/model of your vehicle
  • Your age
  • Occupation
  • Gender
  • Marital status
  • Where you live

You’ll pay a higher premium if you have multiple violations, especially within the past three years. Densely populated areas like big cities have more expensive rates than rural areas.

Maine BMV

Get more information about SR22 financial responsibility and license suspension on the Maine BMV website.

When you’re looking for SR22 Maine insurance online, narrow your search to three insurance providers for a quote. Stay away from companies that advertise “SR22 as low as $15.00!” You’ll discover that their rates are a lot more than that. UltraCar Insurance offers the most competitive SR22 Maine quotes available. Our agents are licensed in 34 states, and have extensive knowledge of SR22 insurance. We’ll make the process quick and easy for you. Call or click to start a quote now!

Circle
 

Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!


 
* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.