SR22 insurance without a car in California is high-risk insurance for license reinstatement when you don’t own a car. It’s called California non-owner SR22 insurance because a vehicle is not insured.
Reasons for SR22 insurance without a car in California:
There are a numerous reasons the state requires people to carry SR22 insurance. Most often, the purpose is to reinstate a driver’s license after suspension for certain traffic violations. However, there are other instances when the state requires an SR22 filing. Some of the most common reasons for SR22 insurance are:
- Excessive points (too many tickets) on your DMV record
- Failure to pay a traffic fine
- Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI or DWI)
- Child support
- Failure to appear in court
- A legal judgment
- Driving without insurance
- Drag racing / Reckless driving
How do I reinstate my driver’s license?
You’ll have to complete several steps to reinstate your license:
- After a mandatory suspension period, you can start the license reinstatement process.
- First, you’ll pay a reinstatement fee.
- Depending on the violation, you may have to take a driver improvement course or complete other requirements.
- You’ll work with a qualified insurance agent who will write a non-owner insurance policy with an SR22 endorsement.
- Your agent submits the SR22 form to the California DMV to reinstate your driver’s license.
You can find more information about financial responsibility and license suspension in the California Driver Handbook.
How does SR22 insurance without a car in California work?
Non owner insurance coverage works differently than owner-operator insurance. Non-owner insurance covers you when you drive a borrowed car on an occasional basis. This type of insurance has coverage limitations and restrictions on the types of vehicles you can drive. High risk non owner SR22 California is secondary insurance coverage that pays claims not covered by the vehicle owner’s insurance.
The liability coverage requirements for SR22 insurance without a car in California are:
- $15,000 for a single death or injury
- $30,000 for death or injury to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
How long do I have to keep SR22 high-risk insurance?
Most people will have to carry California SR22 insurance for three years or less. The amount of time required depends on the severity of the violation. You’ll have to keep this insurance current, or the state will suspend your license again.
We specialize in providing SR22 insurance without a car in California. If you have no car but need SR22 insurance, let an UltraCar Insurance agent help. Call us or click to start an online quote today.
by UltraCar Insurance