High risk non owner SR22 California is insurance for people who don’t own a vehicle and want to reinstate their license. The state allows a certain number of points on your driving record in a specified time. You can have a less-than-perfect driving record, but as long as you stay below the maximum allowable points, you can maintain your driving privileges. If you exceed the allowable points, you’ll end up with a suspended license.
Some violations result in immediate license suspension, , even if your driving record was previously perfect. Reasons for immediate license suspension include:
- Driving without insurance
- A California DUI or DWI charge
- Non-payment of child support
- A court judgment
How do I buy high risk non owner SR22 California?
To become eligible for license reinstatement, you’ll have to complete the requirements, which include:
- Paying a $250 financial responsibility penalty fee
- Paying a reissue fee
- Filing an SR22 certificate with the DMV
To get an SR22 certificate, you’ll work with an insurance provider like UltraCar Insurance. They write a non-owner insurance policy (California no car insurance) with an SR22 endorsement. They will file your document with the California DMV.
How long will I have to keep high risk non owner SR22 California?
You’ll have to keep your high risk non owner SR22 California policy in force while the SR22 requirement is in effect. When the state requires SR22 insurance, it’s usually for 1-3 years, depending on the circumstances. If you let your policy lapse for any reason, the state will suspend your driver license again.
Once you fulfill your SR22 requirement, you can keep the non-owner insurance policy without the SR22 endorsement. Carrying non owner insurance provides you with extra protection if you occasionally drive a borrowed vehicle. Keeping non owner insurance coverage makes you financially responsible, and having continuous insurance coverage can help you get lower insurance rates in the future.
How much does non owner insurance with SR22 cost?
When you need high risk non owner SR22 California, insurance companies consider you a high risk driver. You’ll likely pay a higher insurance rate than people with a perfect driving record. Most insurance companies won’t be able to offer you favorable rates if you’ve had multiple accidents or tickets. The primary considerations in how SR22 insurance costs are determined are:
- Age – Younger drivers pay high premiums than older drivers.
- Zip code or area – Your rate will be higher if you live in an urban area vs. a rural area.
- The number of violations, including tickets and accidents, in the past 3-5 years.
Get more details about California license suspension and revocation in the Administrative section of the California Driver Handbook – just click the menu button on the handbook.
Get your high risk non owner SR22 California certificate from UltraCar Insurance. We make the process easy! Talk with one of our friendly agents – or click the button for a quick quote.
This article was last updated on November 5th, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance