If you’ve been charged with DUI when driving a borrowed vehicle, you’ll have to buy non owner DUI insurance Oregon for license reinstatement. The state of Oregon requires vehicle owners to carry minimum liability insurance coverage of 25/50/20. But after a DUI violation you’ll have to carry SR22 insurance with higher minimum coverage.
Higher liability coverage for DUI insurance Oregon
Oregon auto insurance rates are generally higher than in neighboring states. One reason for this is that Oregon requires uninsured and under insured bodily injury as mandatory coverage. Surrounding states like Nevada and California do not. The minimum coverage for standard insurance policies is 25/50/20. Minimum coverage requirements for non owner DUI insurance Oregon are:
- BI-PD: 50/100/25 *
- UM-BI/UIM-BI: 50/100 **
* $50,000 bodily injury per person / $100,000 bodily injury per accident / $25,000 property damage.
** $50,000 uninsured or under insured motorist bodily injury per person / $100,000 uninsured or under insured motorist bodily injury per accident
Penalties for drunk driving in Oregon
State legislatures across the country are imposing tougher sanctions for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. In Oregon if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08 or higher, penalties include license suspension, arrest and jail time. You could even be charged with a felony if it is your second or third DUI conviction.
Non owner SR22 Oregon for license reinstatement
For license reinstatement without a vehicle, you’ll need non owner DUI insurance Oregon with an SR22 attachment. Non owner insurance coverage has certain restrictions to be aware of. It doesn’t cover any vehicles owned by others in your household, or if you have permanent access to a vehicle. Oregon non owner SR22 insurance is liability coverage only. It covers you when driving a borrowed vehicle on an occasional basis. Any vehicle you drive must be properly insured by the owner. This is because non-owner insurance will not cover damage to the vehicle you’re driving.
More about Oregon non owner insurance
Additional information about license suspensions and license reinstatement procedures are available on the Oregon DOT website.
The following articles on our website are also related to non owner DUI insurance Oregon:
- SR22 DUI Insurance
- Non Owner SR22
- Non Owner SR22 vs SR22 Insurance
- Cheap Non Owner SR22 Insurance Oregon
- Can you buy SR22 insurance without a vehicle?
Get fast license reinstatement from UltraCar Insurance with non owner DUI insurance Oregon. Click the quote button to get started, or talk with one of our licensed agents today!
This article was last updated on October 8th, 2019 by UltraCar Insurance