Nebraska SR22 DUI Insurance

When you need SR22 DUI insurance after an alcohol or drug-related license suspension, we can help. Call or start an online quote today!

Start Your Quote

What you need to know about SR22 insurance after a DUI in Nebraska.

What is Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance? People understand they shouldn’t drive after drinking or taking certain medications. However, under the influence of alcohol or drugs, sometimes they decide to drive. If an officer stops them, they will usually end up with a suspended driver’s license and other penalties. After a DUI conviction, they’ll need to buy SR22 insurance to reinstate their license.

Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance is a high-risk insurance policy you’ll need to buy to reinstate your driver’s license after a DUI conviction. Your insurance provider attaches an SR22 form to the policy then electronically submits it to the Nebraska DMV in Lincoln. The insurance company that underwrites your policy monitors it, and if it lapses, the state suspends your license again.

To keep your driving privileges, you’ll have to carry Nebraska suspended license insurance for 3-5 years to maintain financial responsibility. The amount of time the state requires you to keep SR22 insurance depends on the circumstances of your case.

Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance without a car

Even if you don’t own a vehicle, you’ll need to carry SR22 insurance to reinstate your license after a DUI. Non Owner SR22 Insurance Nebraska is the policy you’ll get in this case. Non owner insurance coverage works differently than owner/owner-operator coverage because you aren’t insuring a vehicle.

Broad Form SR22 Insurance

In Nebraska, another insurance option, Broad Form SR22 Insurance, is available to vehicle owners and those without a car. The coverage is very limited in scope and is generally more expensive than a non-owner SR22 policy.

Nebraska Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements

  • Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Property Damage Liability: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident
  • Medical Payments: Optional

Nebraska DUI Penalties

The blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for drivers over 21 with a non-commercial Nebraska license is 0.08%. A BAC of 0.15% or more is an Aggravated DUI. Nebraska’s Zero Tolerance for drivers under 21 is a BAC limit of 0.02%. The state assigns penalties based on prior DUI convictions and sobriety test results.

Getting a DUI violation presents challenges to your personal and financial life. You’ll have to serve some jail time or probation, pay fines, and apply for an ignition interlock device (IID) to drive on a limited basis during your suspension. To reinstate your license after your suspension period is over, you’ll need to buy Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance and keep it for and specific time. Paying for high-risk insurance is an additional expense that affects your finances for a relatively long time.

A DUI conviction will appear on criminal and driving record background checks, which may affect your ability to obtain a job in some employment sectors.

Nebraska DUI Sentences, Fines, and License Revocation

Listed below are the penalties for first through fifth DUI convictions. The penalties for aggravated DUI carry additional fines and jail or prison time. If a court grants probation, the fines still apply, and the court may still assign some jail time and community service. After satisfying these requirements, you’ll need to buy Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance.

  • First DUI:
    7-60 days jail time, $500 fine, 6-month license suspension
  • Second DUI:
    30-180 days jail time, $500 fine, 18-month license suspension
  • Third DUI:
    90 days-12 months jail time, $1,000 fine, 15 years license revocation
  • Fourth DUI (Felony DUI):
    180 days-3 years jail time, up to $10,000 fine, 15 years license revocation
  • Fifth DUI (Felony DUI):
    Up to 20 years jail time, up to $25,000 fine, 15- year license revocation

Ignition Interlock Permit

You may be able to waive your right to an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing if you’re eligible to apply for a Nebraska Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP).

UltraCar Insurance partners with Intoxalock® IID services to assist you in obtaining license reinstatement.

Nebraska DMV Resources

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles website explains SR-22 for Revocations/Suspensions. This page also addresses cross-state SR22 insurance for people who have a Nebraska SR22 DUI insurance requirement but live in another state. The Nebraska DMV Financial Responsibility Division is a good information resource for high-risk drivers.

UltraCar Insurance for Nebraska SR22 DUI Insurance

UltraCar Insurance is an established SR22 insurance Nebraska provider. We know you’re looking for the cheapest DUI insurance in Nebraska. Our licensed agents are here to discuss any aspect of license reinstatement after a DUI with you. Call or click to start an online quote today!

This article was last updated on February 23rd, 2022 by