The state requires Mississippi DUI insurance (SR22 insurance) to reinstate your driver’s license after a drunk or impaired driving conviction. DUI (driving under the influence) violations can be a criminal misdemeanor or felony offense.
The classification depends on the severity of the offense, if there are prior DUI convictions, or if an injury or death occurred. The state considers other factors as well. A DUI conviction stays on your driving record for 3-5 years, with one possible exception after a first DUI violation.
Mississippi DUI Code, Section 63-11-30
Operating a motor vehicle in Mississippi is illegal under the following conditions:
- Having a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of .08% or higher.
- Getting a BAC result of .02% or higher if under age 21.
- Driving under the influence of any illegal drug or substance, prescription drug or intoxicant, alcoholic beverage, or liquor.
Misdemeanor or Felony DUI?
- Misdemeanor DUI: Generally, a first or a second Mississippi DUI conviction within the past five years is a misdemeanor.
- Felony DUI: Three or more DUI convictions in a person’s lifetime are a Felony.
- Aggravated DUI: This is the charge when injury or death results from the violation. In addition, the person may receive a sentence of 5-25 years per injury or death.
Refusing to take a chemical test
The Mississippi Implied Consent Law concerns licensed drivers who decline to take a field sobriety test. When you accept a Mississippi driver’s license, you agree to take a chemical test at an officer’s request.
Your behavior does not have to indicate impairment. An officer’s observations alone are sufficient for probable cause to conduct a DUI test or make a Mississippi DUI arrest.
When you refuse to take a chemical test, the state suspends your driving privileges for 90 days, without exception. If you have previously refused to test or have a prior DUI conviction, the suspension is one year.
Penalties for Mississippi DUI
A judge decides DUI penalties for each individual based on statutory guidelines and the person’s record. Fines and jail time for drivers age 21 and older usually result in these penalties:
- First offense: Mandatory 120-day license suspension; $250 to $100 in fines; up to 48 hours in jail.
- Second offense: One-year license suspension; $600 to $1,500 in fines; five days to 6 months in jail; 10 days to 6 months community service.
- Third offense: Three-year license suspension (a ten-year suspension for a fourth offense); $2,000 to $5,000 in fines and 1-5 years in prison.
DUI penalties for drivers under 21
The Mississippi DUI Zero Tolerance Law addresses DUI cases of people under age 21. This law makes it illegal for underage drivers to operate a vehicle with a BAC of .02% or higher.
First violation penalties:
- A 90-day license suspension.
- A $250 fine.
- Completion of an alcohol education program.
- Possible attendance at a victim impact panel.
Second violation penalties:
- A one-year license suspension.
- A $500 fine.
- Alcohol and safety education classes.
- Victim impact panel attendance.
Penalties for a third or additional offense within five years while still under 21:
- $1,000 fine.
- License suspension until turning 21 or for two years (whichever is longer).
At the discretion of a court, you may be able to qualify for non-adjudication. Non-adjudication allows you to get an interlock-restricted license for 120 days rather than a 120-day no-driving license suspension. Costs include IID installation plus specific fees when you pick up the restricted license at the DPS Driver License station. (Fees are subject to change by the Mississippi DPS.)
- $175 interlock fee
- $56 restricted driver’s license
- $175 reinstatement fee
UltraCar Insurance has partnered with Intoxalock IID services for the convenience of our customers. When the state requires you to install an ignition interlock device, start by clicking this link.
Mississippi DUI treatment programs
If this is your second or subsequent DUI conviction, the court will require you to take a substance abuse diagnostic assessment. You’ll have to complete any treatment program recommendations that result from this assessment.
What is a restricted driver’s license?
The state may grant a restricted license so you can drive, with limitations, during your suspension period. These limitations involve how, when, where, and for what reasons you can drive. A restricted driver’s license is also called a “hardship license.”
In most cases, the state allows a restricted license only after a first Mississippi DUI license suspension. You’ll need to complete an initial “hard suspension” (usually 30 days), prove your eligibility, and state the reason for your hardship.
Mississippi SR22 Insurance
Once you’ve completed the requirements the state assigned, you can apply for license reinstatement. Reinstating your license requires you to buy Mississippi SR22 DUI insurance and carry it for three years. Call UltraCar Insurance to set up an insurance policy and file your SR22 insurance certificate.
If you own a vehicle, you’ll get SR22 Insurance Mississippi. People who don’t own a car will need to get Non-Owner SR22 Insurance Mississippi.
More about Mississippi DUI insurance
Mississippi DUI Department
Mississippi License Reinstatement Fees
UltraCar Insurance is your Mississippi DUI insurance specialist! Talk with one of our licensed agents today for a fast Mississippi SR22 insurance filing.
This article was last updated on February 23rd, 2022 by UltraCar Insurance