Driving without insurance in Missouri is against the law, as it is in all 50 states. If you get pulled over and can’t provide proof of insurance, the state will suspend your driver’s license.
For license reinstatement, you’ll file a proof of financial responsibility form (an SR22 certificate) with the Missouri Department of Revenue. Your insurance provider will endorse the certificate to your auto insurance policy if you own a vehicle. If you don’t own a car, you can get a Missouri non-owner SR22 insurance policy.
You may be able to apply for a hardship license or “limited driving privilege” (LDP) to drive to work and other essential tasks. However, first, you’ll have to request an administrative hearing, asking the state to grant you a hardship license.
Missouri SR22 liability insurance coverage requirements
Your SR22 insurance policy must carry minimum liability coverage of 25/50/25, which means:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 property damage
Missouri also requires a $25,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person. (This requirement is optional in some other states.)
Penalties for driving without insurance in Missouri
When you drive without insurance, there are penalties to your driving record, and monetary penalties.
Driving without insurance in Missouri adds four “points” (penalties) to your driving record. What if you already have points on your record from traffic violations in the past 18 months? If you reach eight total points, the Missouri DOR will automatically suspend your license.
- If you have no other citations besides the No Insurance ticket, there is a $20 reinstatement fee for the first violation. You’ll also have to provide proof of SR22 insurance for license reinstatement.
- A second offense results in a 90-day license suspension before you’ll be eligible for reinstatement. In addition, the reinstatement fee increases to $200.
- A third driving without insurance in Missouri offense results in a one-year license suspension, plus a $400 reinstatement fee.
See the Missouri Department of Revenue website for more details about the state’s financial responsibility insurance requirements.
Words of caution about uninsured driving
We understand that losing your driving privileges presents challenges. It may be tempting to take the chance of driving without insurance, however, that’s a gamble that can be costly. We recommend obeying the law and following the license reinstatement procedure.
You shouldn’t operate a vehicle until you file an SR22 form with the state and obtain formal confirmation of license reinstatement. Until then, the state can again cite you for driving without insurance in Missouri or driving with a suspended license. A repeat violation could harm your chances of getting a hardship license or reinstating your license. You’ll need to get legal advice and file a petition with the circuit court if you get another Missouri No Insurance ticket.
Learn more about Missouri Driver Responsibilities and Penalties on the Missouri DOR website.
UltraCar Insurance helps people with the difficulties of getting SR22 insurance. We’ll make the process of license reinstatement as easy as possible. If you have a driving without insurance in Missouri violation, call today for a free, no-obligation consultation. Our experienced, licensed agents are ready to help!
by UltraCar Insurance