For Alabama license reinstatement, you will have to pay reinstatement fees and buy an Alabama SR22 insurance certificate. The state of Alabama requires all drivers to carry Mandatory Liability Insurance (MLI) on their vehicles. This insurance requirement applies to anyone who drives a vehicle, not just to vehicle owners. Not complying with this law can result in suspension of your driver’s license.
Reasons for license suspension
There are a variety of reasons for SR22 insurance. You can lose your driving privileges if you get an Alabama DUI citation, drive without insurance, drive with a suspended or revoked license, exceed allowable points on your driving record or other motor vehicle violations. These offenses require an SR22 insurance filing for Alabama license reinstatement.
- Alabama DUI and reckless driving: If you receive a citation for DUI or reckless driving your driver’s license will be revoked, SR22 insurance.
- Uninsured drivers: If you cause an accident and can’t pay for damages because you have no insurance, or inadequate insurance, the state may require you to carry SR22 insurance.
- Excessive traffic tickets (points): If you accumulate too many points on your driving record your license will be suspended and you’ll need to submit an SR22 filing for reinstatement.
License suspension based on accumulation of points over a two-year period:
- 24 or more points = 1 year suspension
- 21 to 23 points = 180 day suspension
- 18 to 20 points = 120 day suspension
- 15 to 17 points = 90 day suspension
- 12 to 14 points – 60 day suspension
How do I get Alabama license reinstatement?
To begin the process of reinstating your license in Alabama, your insurance provider files an SR22 certificate with the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) Driver License Department. When the certificate is filed, it is considered a guarantee of financial responsibility. In other words, it assures the state that you’ll carry the required insurance coverage for a specific time in the future.
You can get SR22 insurance Alabama whether you own a vehicle or not. Vehicle owners will have the SR22 certificate endorsed to their auto insurance policy. The certificate will be attached to a non owner SR22 insurance policy if you don’t own a vehicle. Non owner SR22 insurance Alabama insures you while driving a non owned vehicle on an occasional basis.
How much does SR22 insurance cost?
Not all insurance companies SR22 insurance. In some cases a company may terminate your current policy if you need an SR22 certificate. SR22 insurance costs for Alabama license reinstatement can become expensive. Adding an SR22 to your insurance policy will cost about two times more than your previous insurance rate. If you were paying $50 per month for liability-only coverage, your premiums may increase to $150 per month, depending on the reason for your suspension.
Alabama license reinstatement fees:
- Suspended or canceled license: $100
- Revoked license: $175
Fees for alcohol or drug related offenses:
- Revoked license: $275
- Suspended or canceled license: $275
- Additional drug related fee: $25
- Failure to surrender license within 30 days: $50
Get a free, no-obligation Alabama SR22 insurance quote from UltraCar Insurance, a leading company for all your auto and motorcycle insurance needs. Click the quote button for Alabama license reinstatement or give us a call today!
This article was last updated on January 12th, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance