When you have an Alabama DUI or DWI conviction, the state will suspend your driving privileges until you apply for license reinstatement. When you’re eligible for reinstatement, the state requires you to carry SR22 DUI insurance, usually for three years. The SR22 requirement applies whether you own a car or not.
What is drunk or impaired driving?
- Having a .08% or more BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration)
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a .04% or more BAC
- Being under the age of 21 with a .02% or more BAC – Alabama Zero Tolerance Law § 32-5A-191(b)
- Being under the influence of any legal or illegal drug or substance that causes impairment and inability to operate a vehicle safely
DUI/DWI offenses are the most serious motor vehicle violations. The risk for an impaired or intoxicated driver to inflict property damage, physical harm, and even death on others is high. An Alabama DUI conviction remains on your driving record for five years.
Alabama DUI Penalties
The severity of Alabama DUI penalties depends on the seriousness of the charges, and if you have previous DUI/DWI convictions on your record. With any DUI or DWI conviction, you can expect to take part in a mandatory alcohol education class or treatment before Alabama license reinstatement.
First Offense: In Alabama, a first DUI charge is a misdemeanor. Penalties may include:
- Community service or up to one year in jail
- Fines of $600 to $2,100
- A 90-day license suspension
- Participation in a DUI education program
- Drivers under age 21 receive a 30-day license suspension and take part in a substance abuse treatment program
- You may have to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for six months. An IID may be ordered for two years if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over .15%, if you had a passenger under age 14 in the vehicle, or if you refused to test. *
Second Offense: Penalties for a second Alabama DUI offense may include:
- Two days to one year of jail time
- Two to twenty days of community service
- Fines of $1,100 to $5,100
- One-year license revocation
- Two years IID installation (four years if BAC was .15% or more or if refused to test *)
Third Offense: Penalties may include:
- Jail time of sixty days to one year
- $2,100 to $10,100 in fines
- License revocation of three years
- IID installed for three years (six years with BAC .15% or greater, or refusal to test *)
* Refusal to test: The Alabama Implied Consent Law §32-5A-194 requires a mandatory 90-day license suspension for drivers who refuse to take a breath test.
SR22 insurance for Alabama DUI
Alabama SR22 is also known as a financial responsibility form. When you have an Alabama DUI charge on your record, it means you’re a higher insurance risk. So it’s essential that you remain insured if Alabama reinstates your driving privileges during your probationary period.
If you own a car, truck or motorcycle you’ll file an owner-operator SR22 certificate, which is attached to your auto insurance policy. If you don’t own a vehicle, your insurance provider issues a non-owner insurance policy and files a non owner SR22 insurance Alabama certificate.
When your insurance provider files the SR22 certificate with the state, it acts as a monitoring device. Your provider will know immediately if your SR22 policy lapses and must notify the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA) Driver License Department if it does. The ALEA will suspend your license again until you file a new certificate, or the they may revoke your license.
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency (ALEA)
The ALEA Driver License Department oversees all aspects of driver licensing, fees, records and reinstatement in the state. See the ALEA website for information regarding Alabama DUI administrative suspension hearings and license reinstatement fees.
When you need SR22 insurance after an Alabama DUI offense, UltraCar Insurance is here to help. Click the button to start your Alabama SR22 quote, or talk with one of our licensed agents today.
This article was last updated on February 3rd, 2020 by UltraCar Insurance