So, what is FR44 insurance Virginia? If you want to reinstate your license after a DUI/DWI conviction, the state requires you to file an FR44 certificate. To get an FR44 certificate, you’ll have an insurance provider write you an owner or non-owner liability insurance policy, and add the FR44 certificate as a rider to your policy. Your insurance agent then files the certificate with the Virginia DMV. The insurance underwriter monitors your FR44 policy to ensure it remains current while the state requires you to keep it. If your policy lapses during this time, the state suspends your license again.
Virginia was the first state to implement the FR44 filing system specifically for alcohol or drug-related motor vehicle offenses. An FR44 insurance filing is similar to an SR22 filing; however, the minimum coverage requirements for FR44 insurance are much higher than coverage requirements for standard liability insurance.
Virginia FR44 insurance coverage requirements
Virginia’s financial responsibility law requires ALL drivers to maintain minimum liability insurance coverage of 30/60/20. Your insurance must cover loss in an accident in which you are at fault for a minimum of:
- $30,000 for bodily injury or death per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury or death per accident
- $20,000 for damage to others’ property
When considering what is FR44 insurance Virginia, the minimum liability coverage requirements are higher than those for standard insurance. At a minimum, FR44 insurance policies must have the following liability coverage:
- $60,000 bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident
- $120,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more person in any one accident
- $40,000 for property damage of others
More about what is FR44 insurance Virginia
You can find out how to obtain restricted driving privileges after a DUI conviction on the Virginia DMV website. The following articles on our website are also related to what is FR44 insurance Virginia:
- If you don’t own a vehicle: FR44 Non Owner Insurance, Virginia Non Owners Insurance
- DUI in Virginia
- What’s the difference between SR22 and FR44 insurance?
- What happens to my FR44 if I move out of state?
How to get started
In many cases, the state of Virginia assigns you a case number when you have a DUI or DWI conviction. When you contact UltraCar Insurance, please provide the following information so we can quickly issue your policy and correctly file your certificate:
- Your case number
- The date of your DUI or DWI conviction
Our friendly, knowledgeable agents are ready to answer any questions you have about what is FR44 insurance Virginia. It will take just a few minutes to get an FR44 insurance quote from UltraCar Insurance. Click the quote button to get started, or give us a call today! Then we can issue your policy and complete your FR44 filing with the Virginia DMV in as little as 20 minutes.
This article was last updated on January 7th, 2022 by UltraCar Insurance