If you don’t own a car, consider a scenario where you’re driving someone else’s vehicle, and you’ve had a drink or two. Suppose you get a DUI conviction after an officer pulls you over or you’re in an accident. In cases like these, you’ll need to get non-owner DUI insurance Idaho to reinstate your license.
After consuming alcohol, legal or illegal drugs, or even certain prescription medications, it’s never a good idea to get behind the wheel. Yet people too often drive in an impaired condition, most of the time without recognizing it.
Idaho BAC limits
In Idaho, you will be charged with DUI if your breath alcohol concentration (BAC) is:
- Age 21 and over: 0.08%
- Under the age of 21: 0.02%
- Commercial vehicle drivers: 0.04%
Personal and financial consequences of DUI violations
Drinking and driving can have profoundly adverse effects on the brain, and this is particularly true of teen drivers. Many studies have shown how alcohol slows the reflexes and reaction time. The ability to respond quickly, the loss of control, and impaired judgment can lead to horrific accidents or death. The Idaho Transportation Department website page, THE DRIVER, has more information on the effects of impaired driving, DUI penalties, and alcohol testing.
Because the outcomes of DUI/DWI can be dire for you and others, all 50 states have strict DUI laws. If you don’t pass a DUI test, it will lead to your arrest and suspension of your driver’s license. For many people, it’s expensive to regain their driving privileges. There are fines, reinstatement fees, and the requirement to carry non-owner DUI insurance Idaho for several years. Depending on the results of your sobriety test, it can take three months to a year to be eligible for license reinstatement.
Non-Owner DUI insurance Idaho for license reinstatement
Even when you don’t own a vehicle, license reinstatement can be a lengthy process. When you’re eligible for a restricted license or full license reinstatement, you’ll need to buy non-owner DUI insurance Idaho with an SR22 endorsement. When you don’t own a vehicle, you’ll purchase non-owner SR22 insurance Idaho.
UltraCar Insurance is an established provider of non-owner SR22 insurance policies and filing. We’re ready to help make the license reinstatement process easy for you.
Can I drive with non-owner SR22?
Depending on your BAC, the state could require you to drive a car with an ignition interlock device installed. In that case, you’ll need a family member or friend willing to let you install the IID in their car.
A non-owner SR22 insurance policy does not cover a car you have regular access to or drive regularly. Therefore, the vehicle you borrow must have separate insurance. The vehicle owner’s insurance rate will be affected, depending on your driving history.
A non-owner DUI insurance Idaho policy must meet these minimum state liability coverage requirements:
- $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage
- $15,000 per accident in property damage liability coverage
- $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in uninsured/under-insured motorist coverage *
- Medical coverage *
*Optional (you can decline this coverage)
Please read our article about non owner insurance coverage for more details about the limitations of coverage.
Choose UltraCar Insurance for non-owner DUI insurance Idaho
After a DUI conviction, get quick, accurate filing of your non-owner SR22 certificate. Click the quote button or call us today! We simplify the license reinstatement process, whatever your SR22 insurance needs are.
This article was last updated on January 12th, 2022 by UltraCar Insurance