The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) reported that in 2019, 32 percent of all fatal accidents were alcohol-related. Statistics show there were over 20,000 DUI arrests in Virginia in the same year.
It’s no secret that states don’t take kindly to DUI or DWI violations. Each state’s DMV determines motor vehicle penalties by the severity of the offense. Some traffic offenses are more harmful than others, and driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is one of the most serious. States consider DUI one of the most significant traffic violations because it affects the impaired driver’s safety and puts others in danger.
What Happens After a DUI Conviction?
Virginia DUI laws classify a first DUI or DWI conviction as a Class 1 Misdemeanor, meaning you might have to pay fines or spend time in jail. The immediate result of a first DUI or DWI violation is a one-year suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. Repeat offenders can expect a three-year suspension. Upon a third DUI conviction, the court will likely revoke your driving privileges indefinitely.
The implications of a DUI conviction can be significant. The resulting license suspension impacts your personal and professional life by making it difficult for you to get where you need to go. Reinstating your license requires carrying Virginia FR-44 insurance for at least three years, much more expensive than what you paid before the DUI offense.
Most states require SR-22 insurance for DUI or DWI license reinstatement. But in Virginia (or Florida), you’ll need to get FR-44 insurance, a financial responsibility filing for drug and alcohol-related convictions. Virginia was the first state to introduce the FR-44 insurance certificate in 2009.
How to Reinstate Your License Following a DUI Conviction
In many cases, you will also need to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle to meet the requirements for a temporary hardship license or an extended time. This device prevents your vehicle’s engine from starting unless you provide a clean breath sample – below 0.02 percent. You may also have to complete a driver alcohol safety program before the state restores your driving privileges.
Obtaining high-risk insurance is the final step required to reinstate your license. An FR-44 insurance certificate is a rider to your auto or non-owner insurance policy. Filing this certification with the DMV proves that you meet the state’s higher insurance coverage requirements following a DUI/DWI conviction.
Get Back on the Road with FR-44 Insurance from UltraCar Insurance
Drivers with a DUI or DWI conviction must carry Virginia FR-44 insurance to drive legally for a specific time. Fortunately, UltraCar Insurance can help you with low Virginia SR-22 and FR-44 insurance rates.
Our family-owned insurance company provides high-risk FR-44 and SR-22 insurance in Virginia and SR-22 insurance in 34 states, including Virginia. We also offer non-owners SR-22 and FR-44 insurance to drivers who don’t own a vehicle. Check our website for more information, and contact us to learn more today!
by UltraCar Insurance