×
SR22 Oregon

SR22 Oregon

Need SR22 Oregon insurance? Let us help. Submit a quote request now or call us today.

SR22 Oregon

After a driver’s license suspension, UltraCar Insurance will quickly file an SR22 Oregon insurance certificate with the Oregon DMV to reinstate your license when you’re eligible. The SR22 document is also called a Uniform Financial Responsibility Form. It is a certificate of insurance that must be maintained during your probationary period (three years in most cases). This high risk insurance certificate must be maintained without lapse for the duration of your suspension period, whether you own a vehicle or not. You’ll often find lower rates for SR22 Oregon with UltraCar Insurance; standard insurance companies usually don’t offer it, or charge hefty premiums.

The minimum liability insurance requirements in Oregon are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per occurrence
  • $50,000 bodily injury for total number of persons per occurrence
  • $20,000 property damage per crash

The cost of an SR22 Oregon insurance requirement varies depending on the driver’s age, location, and the number type of violations. So be careful, your traffic tickets will stay on your record for 3- 5 years, and will that will impact your rate and premiums. Consulting with an attorney may help, but you also need to keep the cost in mind.

If you’re stopped by an officer and have a BAC (blood alcohol content) in excess of Oregon state limits that results in a DUI, DUII (driving under influence of intoxicants) or DWI conviction, you will need higher coverage limits of 50/100/20, including uninsured motorist / under insured motorist / bodily injury coverage of 50/100. In some alcohol related cases, the state may also require you to obtain an ignition interlock device.

The most common reason people lose their driver’s license is operating a car without insurance (uninsured motorist). It is against the law in any state to operate a vehicle that is not insured. Every month the Oregon DMV randomly audits a number of vehicles, and asks the owner to provide proof of insurance, and if owner of that car fails to comply, his/her driving privileges will be revoked. That’s why it is important to make sure a valid up-to-date insurance card is always present in your glove compartment. This becomes even more important when you borrow someone else’s vehicle and cause an accident, because you’ll not only be liable to pay the damages out of pocket, you’ll also end up with a suspended license.

Examples of violations that result in an SR22 Oregon filing requirement:

  • Accumulating too many points (excessive traffic tickets)
  • Failure to pay child support
  • DUI, DWI or DWII
  • Failure to appear in court
  • Refusal to blow, or implied consent
  • Court judgment
  • Reckless driving

What if I no longer own a car?

Several scenarios come into play if you obtained an SR22 Oregon policy when you owned a vehicle, but stopped paying the premiums if you sold or totaled the vehicle. One of the most common themes we hear from our customers is that they weren’t aware that they have to maintain their policy after they no longer own a car. Any interruption in paying your premiums will result in a suspension of your drivers license. If you don’t own a car, you must purchase a non-owner policy, and maintain the coverage without any lapse until your mandatory probationary period is completed. (See Oregon Non Owner SR22 Insurance or Non Owner SR22 Oregon for more information on SR22 non owners insurance.) The opposite of this scenario is also true. You can convert your non owner policy to an owners policy, with any coverage you want, if you decide to purchase a car. Keep in mind that liability-only coverage is less expensive than full coverage. Also a newer auto is more expensive than an older vehicle. So make sure to get a few quotes before making a final decision.

What if I move or relocate to a different state?

 We sometimes hear from people that they weren’t aware they still have to maintain their insurance after they move from Oregon. For example, let’s say you move to Florida. First you must purchase a Florida SR22 certificate; an owners policy if you own a vehicle, or a non owners policy if you don’t own one. Then you need to add a secondary Oregon SR22 certificate. The important thing to know is that the insurance company you’re dealing with must be authorized to do business in both of those states in order for this combination to work. Also, not all insurance companies are capable of issuing a secondary filing with the DMV. Therefore you must always plan ahead, and check with your insurance provider to confirm if they can fulfill your needs.

UltraCar Insurance offers competitive SR22 Oregon insurance quotes with the best available rates – regardless of your driving record and location. We generally provide quotes with the state mandatory minimum requirements, and inform you about other available coverages that may benefit you. A note to motorcycle owners: you may be able to add an SR22 endorsement to your policy. UltraCar Insurance can help you if that is your case. Our Oregon licensed agents are experienced and knowledgeable, capable of providing advice that serves your best interests. Get your SR22 Oregon insurance quote today. Call us, or submit our online form.

Circle
 

Get An UltraCar Insurance Quote

Please fill out the form below, providing as much information possible, in order to quickly receive your UltraCar Insurance quote today!


 
* Required fields.
** Msg&data rates may apply. To unsubscribe, text STOP to 313131 (393939 in Canada). For help text HELP anytime. Available in USA & Canada. Up to 1 msg/mo. Your privacy is always protected and your information will not be shared. Powered by Ez Texting.