Non-owner FR-44 insurance serves the same role as owner-operator FR-44 insurance. The difference is that non-owner insurance allows drivers who don’t own a vehicle to reinstate their license. It covers the policyholder when they operate a borrowed car. If you plan to drive any non-owned vehicle after a DUI/DWI license suspension, you’ll need to carry non-owner FR-44 insurance.
Non-owner FR44 insurance is not blanket coverage for any car you drive. Non-owner insurance coverage is specific and limited in scope. It’s for drivers who don’t own a vehicle but may occasionally borrow a car from someone who doesn’t live in the same household. The driver must ensure the borrowed vehicle has insurance coverage. Ensuring that the vehicle’s insurance card and registration are in the glove compartment is also important. It is against the law to operate an uninsured vehicle – even if you have non-owner FR44 insurance. A non-owner FR44 policy only covers bodily injury and property damage to the other party if you cause an accident. Because non-owner insurance does not cover a borrowed vehicle, you cannot get it with comprehensive and collision coverage.
Florida’s minimum liability coverage for non-owner FR-44 insurance is the same as FR-44 auto insurance. However, Virginia’s required FR-44 coverage slightly differs. FR-44 non-owner insurance must have minimum coverage of:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury liability per accident
- $40,000 in property damage per accident
UltraCar Insurance provides same-day filing for non-owner FR-44 insurance in Virginia and Florida.