Why does Virginia require drivers to have liability insurance? Suppose you cause an accident without having auto insurance. In that case, you’ll not only have to navigate the aftermath on your own and pay for damages out of pocket, but you can also lose your license. Becoming familiar with Virginia’s auto insurance laws helps you financially if you cause an accident.
Driving without auto insurance is illegal in all states, including Virginia. Liability coverage kicks in when someone causes property damage or bodily injury to another party. Every driver must be financially responsible to pay claims in an at-fault accident. That’s why Virginia requires all drivers to have liability insurance, so all drivers can cruise the roads of this beautiful state legally and safely.
Minimum Liability Insurance Requirements in Virginia
Virginia’s financial responsibility law requires drivers to carry minimum liability insurance when driving any vehicle in the state. In 2022, the state increased its minimum liability coverage requirements, raising the bodily injury (BI) limits by $10,000 per occurrence and $5,000 per person.
The BI liability limit is now $30,000 for each person and $60,000 for each accident. The minimum property damage (PD) liability requirement increased to $20,000 per accident. Between now and 2025, the minimum liability insurance requirements are expected to gradually increase to $25,000 property damage per accident, $100,000 bodily injury per accident, and $50,000 bodily injury per person by 2025.
FR44 and SR22 Insurance
Auto insurance companies file SR22 certificates for drivers with non-substance-related suspensions and FR44 certificates for those with DUI, or DWI convictions. These certificates prove financial responsibility and help drivers reinstate their license after a suspension or revocation. SR22 and FR44 certificates are not insurance; they are endorsements to an auto or non-owner insurance policy.
If Virginia requires you to file an FR44 or SR22 insurance certificate, you are considered a high-risk driver. Insurance companies often hesitate to insure high-risk drivers because they’re more prone to repeat the mistakes that forced the state to revoke their license.
In some states, insurance policies with an SR22 endorsement may have higher minimum coverage requirements than standard insurance policies. But FR44 policies always have higher coverage requirements and cost much more. So comparing quotes from several companies is advisable.
The high-risk insurance requirement does not last forever. The state will remove the SR22 or FR44 mandate if your driving record stays clean during the specified time.
Penalties for Not Carrying Proof of Auto Insurance in Virginia
Driving without insurance is illegal in all states, and Virginia is no exception. It usually results in fines, fees, and penalties, including suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license.
In addition to license suspension, driving without insurance leads to non-compliance fees, reinstatement fees, and the cost of carrying SR22 or FR44 insurance for several years. If the violation is severe enough, a court could assign prison time.
Although payment programs are available for Virginia drivers, you’re better off maintaining auto insurance so you don’t have to deal with the penalties in the first place. Fortunately, UltraCar Insurance offers state-compliant, reliable personal and commercial auto, motorcycle, and non-owner SR-22 and FR-44 insurance.
We’re a leading SR-22 and FR-44 insurance provider, offering a range of high-risk auto insurance services to Virginia drivers. Contact our qualified agents for FR44 or SR22 insurance in Virginia, discuss your concerns with us over the phone, or start a free online quote! Our goal is to help you get back on the road legally and safely and continue living your best life without depending on others to drive you.
This article was last updated on October 25th, 2022 by UltraCar Insurance