Do you you have a suspended Florida driver’s license? UltraCar Insurance will find you a low rate and process a quick FR44 or SR22 certificate filing to reinstate your license. Call us today and get back to enjoying all the sights and activities Florida has to offer.
Are you planning a road trip in the Sunshine State? Florida offers residents and visitors the chance to enjoy the thrilling beaches, nightlife, Walt Disney World, and much more. With so many great attractions, you’ll find some of the busiest roads in the country when driving in Florida.
Since Florida is always hustling and bustling, knowing the rules of the road before setting off on your journey is key to ensuring a safe and enjoyable experience. Here’s what the auto insurance specialists at UltraCar Insurance want you to know about driving in Florida.
#1- Steer Clear of Distracted Driving
Drivers can’t afford for their minds to be anywhere but on their driving, especially in Florida. Florida is rated second worst in the country for distracted driving. Wildlife abounds in the Sunshine State, often a significant cause of accidents.
The sights are breathtaking, but you can admire them when you trade driving shifts or take a break. Keep your eyes on the road to avoid hitting animals on or near the sides of the road. Stay alert at all times, and practice extra precaution during dawn, dusk, and nighttime.
#2- Follow the Rules
You’ll find many similarities between the traffic laws in Florida and other states. Still, there are some special rules of the road that might differ. While helpful information on many driving-related topics is available from the Florida Department of Transportation, here are a few basics you should know.
Turning at Red Lights
It’s perfectly legal to turn right on red traffic lights in Florida – as long as there’s no traffic coming from any direction or a sign indicating otherwise. However, you must come to a complete stop to check if the stoplight displays a red arrow. If there is, you can’t turn right.
Observing Speed Limits
Safe speeds move with traffic flow at the posted speed limit without blocking other vehicles. Driving too fast or too slowly makes drivers susceptible to getting a ticket, as both can cause accidents. The general speed limit in Florida is 70 mph on interstates, 60 mph on state highways, and 65 mph on four-lane divided roads outside urban areas.
Wearing Seat Belts
While driving in Florida, drivers must wear seat belts while ensuring that safety belts restrain every passenger under 18. Children under five must be in a federally approved, crash-tested car seat. You can find more information on the Florida Senate web portal.
The Move Over Act
This legislation requires all drivers to move over a lane, whenever it’s safe, for emergency vehicles, tow trucks, law enforcement, and utility or sanitation service vehicles. If you’re on a two-lane road or cannot move over promptly, slow down to the posted speed limit. If the posted speed is 30 mph or less, you may reduce your rate to 5 mph.
If a driver travels in the wrong direction against traffic, you can report them immediately to 911. If a driver approaches you in the wrong direction, gradually reduce your speed and pull off the roadway.
When navigating stressful situations, it’s not uncommon to find aggressive drivers who cut off cars, drive in blind spots, or display other erratic behavior. Don’t promote road rage by trying to engage with them. Just pull over safely or create space between you and the aggressive driver.
#3- Don’t Drive Without a Valid License or Insurance
Committing many traffic offenses in a brief period, such as those listed below, can lead to license revocation or suspension in Florida:
- Reckless driving
- Negligent behavior
- At-fault accidents
- Driving without a license
- A lapse in insurance
Driving without a valid license or current insurance coverage can lead to legal repercussions such as hefty fines, license suspension, and possibly jail time. In these situations, the specialists at UltraCar Insurance can find an affordable auto or non-owner insurance policy and walk you through the FR44 or SR22 certificate filing process.
We file your SR22 certificate the same day and provide you with a copy. You’ll save money by letting Ultra Car Insurance file your certificate because we don’t charge filing or processing fees. After the state processes your SR22 or FR44 filing, you must maintain your insurance for the mandated period, typically three years. You can avoid future fines and penalties by maintaining your policy without letting it lapse. If it does, the state will suspend your license, and your premium may increase when you re-start SR22 coverage.
#4- Driving Under the Influence
Getting caught on the roads with a blood-alcohol level of over .08% violates Florida law. So is driving under the influence of illegal or harmful substances such as heroin, marijuana, meth, and cocaine, among others. The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs are similar. But you’ll need to file an FR44 certificate in Florida to reinstate your license following a DUI suspension.
#5- Count on UltraCar Insurance When Driving in Florida
UltraCar Insurance offers affordable FR44 Insurance certificates Florida and SR22 certificates for high-risk drivers in 34 states. Even if you don’t own a vehicle, we can help you with Non Owner FR44 Insurance Florida and SR22 certificate to reinstate your driving privileges. Filing the appropriate certificate is the key to getting back behind the wheel safely and legally. And we partner with the state specialists at Intoxalock® to help you get a discount on a quick IID installation in Florida. Call us today for an affordable Florida SR22 or FR44 insurance quote with no filing fees!
This article was last updated on May 26th, 2023 by UltraCar Insurance