Twenty-nine individuals lose their lives daily in the United States due to drunk driving. Approximately one-quarter of all car accidents involve alcohol or drug-impaired drivers. Florida takes drunk driving very seriously. DUI and DWI are acronyms describing impaired driving in slightly different contexts. This brief post will distinguish driving under the influence (DUI) from driving while intoxicated (DWI) and explain the differences between the two. Let’s take a look.
What’s the Difference Between DUI and DWI?
States use both terms to describe this violation. For instance, in New York, DWI means “driving while intoxicated.” In contrast, Florida uses DUI, “driving under the influence.” But there is a perceptible difference in the level of impairment between DWI and DUI.
Driving under the influence indicates that a motorist has a degree of cognitive impairment from drugs or alcohol. Driving while intoxicated implies that the driver has a significant cognitive impairment from alcohol or drug consumption. States typically base disparities in charges on factors such as age, degree of impairment, and any special conditions.
It’s worth stressing that the substances in question need not be illegal. If a person shows diminished mental or physical abilities from any drug – prescription or otherwise – an officer has the authority to arrest them for DUI or DWI.
What Does The Law Say?
Some state governments utilize other terms for DUI and DWI violations. These terms include “operating under the influence” (OUI) or “operating while intoxicated” (OWI). Florida drivers facing charges for violations of this type likely have a BAC above the permissible limit of 0.08.
A judge evaluates the defendant’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and other factors, like previous convictions, in sentencing the defendant. Those who register a BAC of 0.15 or above face harsher charges and penalties.
What Are The Consequences For First-Time Offenders?
Penalties for substance-related motor vehicle offenses vary from state to state. In Florida, possible outcomes of a first DUI/DWI conviction may include:
- One year in jail
- Community service requirement of 50 hours
- Up to a one-year license suspension
- Fines of up to $2,000
- An ignition interlock requirement for a minimum of six months
License Suspended After A DUI? You Need High-Risk FR-44 Insurance From Ultra Car Insurance!
Ultra Car Insurance is a leading provider of high-risk FR-44 and SR-22 insurance in Florida. We have served Florida drivers since 2012 with affordable rates on high-risk auto insurance policies. For our customers who don’t own a vehicle, we offer Non Owner SR22 Insurance Florida or Non Owner FR-44 Insurance Florida. Contact us today for more details!
by UltraCar Insurance