Florida DUI Insurance
Florida drivers convicted of alcohol related offenses resulting in driver’s license suspension must carry a special filing with the Florida DMV called Florida DUI insurance (also known as Florida FR44 insurance). When an individual is convicted of a DUI offense their driver’s license is automatically suspended. After their probationary period is completed, they can have their driver’s license reinstated provided they purchase Florida DUI insurance. Florida FR44 insurance is a certificate of financial responsibility attached as a rider to the driver’s primary insurance policy. After FR44 insurance is purchased, their insurance provider will submit the filing with Florida State DMV. The individual’s FR44 policy is then constantly monitored to insure that they have the proper amount of insurance coverage set by the state at all times. UltraCar Insurance provides Florida DUI insurance for license reinstatement, including owner and non owner policies.
Drivers who do not own a vehicle and have lost driving privileges due to a DUI offense can reinstate their license by purchasing non owner Florida DUI insurance. If a Florida FR44 non owner policy holder is involved in an accident that is their fault, their FR44 insurance goes into effect. After the vehicle owner’s primary insurance coverage limits have been reached, any additional bodily injury or property damage claims will then be paid by the Florida DUI insurance policy.
If you are required to carry FR44 insurance it is important that you do not let the policy lapse, expire or be canceled. If this happens, the insurance provider will immediately submit an FR46 form with Florida DMV, resulting in suspension of your driver’s license. This means you will once again have to obtain Florida FR44 insurance coverage and pay a reinstatement fee and/or fines to have your license reinstated. Because this is costly, it is very important to keep your Florida DUI insurance in effect.
Florida FR44 minimum insurance requirements:
The Florida FR44 program has been in effect since October 2007, and in February 2008 the program started. Florida drivers who are required to carry Florida DUI insurance must have the following minimum coverage:
- $100,000 in bodily injury per individual
- $300,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 in property damage
UltraCar Insurance will find you the best rate in Florida DUI insurance. Call us for a competitive quote today, or submit an inquiry using our secure online form!
Florida DUI Insurance
*UltraCar Insurance makes every effort to provide accurate and up to date information about SR22 insurance for each state in which we are licensed; however, we cannot guarantee total accuracy. If an error is discovered it will be corrected immediately.